Canadian Medical Association

Canadian Medical Association

August 10, 2005 17:00 ET

Dr. Albert J. Aguayo to Receive the CMA's Highest Honour

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Aug. 10, 2005) - On August 17, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) will present the 2005 F.N.G. Starr Award to Dr. Albert J. Aguayo from Montreal. With this award, the CMA expresses its recognition for his outstanding contributions to neuroscience and the advancement of international knowledge about the central nervous system.

Named for Frederic Newton Gisborne Starr (1867-1934), a former Secretary General of the CMA, the F.N.G. Starr Award has been described as the "Victoria Cross of Canadian Medicine." First given in 1936 to Sir Frederick Banting, Dr. Charles Best and Dr. James Collip, this medal represents the highest award that the CMA can bestow upon one of its members in recognition of outstanding achievement.

In the words of a Prix du Quebec tribute, Dr. Aguayo is "a neurobiologist who demystifies neurons." His groundbreaking research at McGill University into the central nervous system challenged the commonly held notion in neurological teaching that the central nervous system could not regenerate after illness or trauma, and thus changed the course of research.

Born in Argentina in 1934, Dr. Aguayo studied medicine at the University of Cordoba Medical School and graduated in 1959. He trained in neurology at the University of Toronto and McGill University, then in 1966 was awarded a McLaughlin Fellowship to do research in the United Kingdom. Appointed director of McGill's Centre for Research in Neuroscience at the Montreal General Hospital in 1980, Dr. Aguayo also was the scientific director for the Neuroscience Canadian Network of Centres of Excellence from 1990 to 2000. He has been in demand as a neurobiology lecturer and visiting professor throughout the world.

He is past Secretary-General and current President of the International Brain Research Organization, a Paris-based society. He also served as President of the North American Society of Neuroscience, becoming the first Canadian to hold this position. The author of more than 150 scientific publications, Dr. Aguayo has been a member of the editorial boards of several scientific journals and for a time was co-editor of Current Opinion in Neurobiology. Throughout his career he has served as a member of several scientific advisory boards and committees of granting and philanthropic organizations.

This year Dr. Albert J. Aguayo will become the 40th recipient of the F.N.G. Starr Award, at a special ceremony at the Francis Winspear Centre for Music in Edmonton as part of the CMA's 138th annual meeting.

(Visit the CMA website at for full biographical notes on Dr. Albert Aguayo)

Contact Information

  • Canadian Medical Association
    Carole Lavigne
    Manager, Media Relations
    1 (800) 663-7336 or
    (613) 731-8610, ext. 1266