Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

July 30, 2014 09:47 ET

EDI Rail Bombardier Transportation (Maintenance) to Provide Complete Fleet Maintenance Solution for Perth Suburban Trains

EDI Rail Bombardier Transportation (Maintenance) joint venture to maintain 22 additional three-car electric trains for the Perth suburban rail network

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - July 30, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation announced today that its Australian joint venture EDI Rail Bombardier Transportation (Maintenance) Pty Ltd has negotiated a contract variation with the West Australian Government in Australia to supply maintenance services for 22 additional three-car "B" Series electric trains currently being manufactured by the joint venture EDI Rail Bombardier Transportation Pty Ltd. The agreement is for five-and-a-half years with an option for an extension of an additional seven-and-a-half years. The contract variation for five-and-a-half years is valued at approximately 40 million AUD (28 million euro, $38 million US).1

Manufacturing of these additional trains commenced in 2013 with the final train due for delivery in 2016. This will take the total number of B-series three-car trains to 68, all of which have been maintained by 'EDI Rail Bombardier Transportation (Maintenance) Pty' since first deliveries in 2004.

Since January 2012, the joint venture has also provided all the maintenance and cleaning for the A-series commuter fleet, bringing all maintenance for the PTA's suburban fleet under the one contractor.

Garry Bulgarelli, Head of Services Execution Asia Pacific, Bombardier Transportation, said: "Bombardier is proud of its long standing relationship with the Perth suburban rail network. Transperth has a clear and continued focus on performance and we commend them on their recent Canstar Blue Most Satisfied Customers Award - City Trains, 2014."

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. In Australia, Bombardier is currently manufacturing trams for the Melbourne network and electric suburban trains for the modernisation of the Adelaide fleet. The company is a member of the GoldLinQ consortium, supplying trams, signalling and system integration to the Gold Coast Rapid Transit project as part of a turnkey system contract. Bombardier also maintains fleets in Victoria and South Australia and, in a joint venture, is supplying and maintaining Perth's suburban train fleet in Western Australia. Bombardier employs over 1,000 people in Australia. Recently, Bombardier secured the New Generation Rollingstock Project as part of a consortium in Queensland to deliver the next generation of EMUs for Brisbane urban services with Queensland rail. This is a major PPP style project which includes 30 years maintenance, the provision of a depot and financing.

Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion USD. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

1 Bombardier Transportation's joint venture (JV) EDI Rail Bombardier Transportation (Maintenance) Pty Ltd is an unconsolidated JV. Order intake will not be reported as part of Bombardier's financial results.

Contact Information