Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

December 18, 2006 16:00 ET

Edmonton Designated a 2007 Cultural Capital of Canada

EDMONTON, ALBERTA--(CCNMatthews - Dec. 18, 2006) - On behalf of the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Status of Women, the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of the Environment, accompanied by Stephen Mandel, Mayor of Edmonton, today announced that Edmonton has been designated a 2007 Cultural Capital of Canada, in the more than 125,000 population category. Comox Valley, British Columbia; Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan; Baie-Saint-Paul, Quebec; and the Huron-Wendat Nation of Wendake, Quebec, have also been named Cultural Capitals for 2007.

"Canada's New Government is dedicated to enriching the lives of Canadians by supporting projects that increase their access to the arts and culture," said Minister Oda. "The Cultural Capitals of Canada Program celebrates the unique character of Canadian municipalities and recognizes the important role they play in highlighting the richness and diversity of our culture."

"Edmonton's designation as a cultural capital demonstrates the city's cultural leadership across the country," said Minister Ambrose.

"Building Connections" emerges from Edmonton's recognition of the contribution made by culture to quality of life. In keeping with this vision, 2007 will set the scene for a series of projects that include a year-long poetry festival. "Nightworks," a series of performances and light displays, will highlight the urban landscape. "Edmonton Explorations" will feature visual and media arts productions and exhibits by local artists. The year 2007 will truly be dedicated to building connections, as Edmonton showcases its cultural vitality and the diversity of its population and strengthens ties between citizens and artists.

The Cultural Capitals of Canada awards recognize the achievements of communities that demonstrate an ongoing commitment to the arts and culture. Funding is awarded for special projects that celebrate arts and culture and create a cultural legacy for the community. Edmonton could receive a contribution of up to $2 million.

An independent advisory committee, composed of the mayors of the 2006 Cultural Capitals of Canada and experts in the arts and culture fields, unanimously recommended the communities to be designated to Minister Oda.

Canadian municipalities and First Nations, Inuit, and Metis communities can apply to this program. The Department is currently evaluating applications for the 2008 and 2009 awards. The application deadline for the 2010 Cultural Capitals of Canada awards is October 15, 2007.

A list of all applicant communities, a summary of the projects of the designated communities, and the maximum possible funding they can receive can be found on the Department of Canadian Heritage website at under Media Room.

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Status of Women
    Chisholm Pothier
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister of the Environment
    Bob Klager
    Director of Communications
    Canadian Heritage
    Donald Boulanger
    A/Chief, Media Relations