Elections Canada

Elections Canada

May 23, 2011 13:15 ET

Elections Canada Announces Results of Judicial Recount in the Electoral District of Etobicoke Centre

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 23, 2011) - The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, announced today that Ted Opitz, the candidate of the Conservative Party of Canada, has been declared elected in the electoral district of Etobicoke Centre (Ontario), following a judicial recount completed on May 22, 2011, by Madame Justice Susan G. Himel of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.

The following are the results of the recount for all candidates in the electoral district of Etobicoke Centre:

Ted OpitzConservative Party of Canada21,644
Ana Maria RiveroNew Democratic Party7,735
Sarah ThompsonMarxist-Leninist Party of Canada149
Borys WrzesnewskyjLiberal Party of Canada21,618
Katarina ZoricicGreen Party of Canada1,377

The returning officer for Etobicoke Centre will complete the writ of election and forward it to the Chief Electoral Officer, who will sign the writ and publish the name of the elected candidate in the Canada Gazette.

Vote. Shape your world.

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Contact Information