Elections Canada

Elections Canada

February 29, 2008 11:06 ET

Elections Canada Releases List of Confirmed Candidates for Monday, March 17, 2008, Federal By-elections

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Feb. 29, 2008) - The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, today released the list of confirmed candidates nominated for the current federal by-elections in Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River (Saskatchewan), Toronto Centre (Ontario), Vancouver Quadra (British Columbia) and Willowdale (Ontario).

A total of 20 candidates have been confirmed in the electoral districts. Seven of the 16 registered political parties are represented by candidates.

The following candidates, with party affiliations as shown, are running in the federal by-elections:

Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River

Joan Beatty (Liberal Party of Canada)

Rob Clarke (Conservative Party of Canada)

Brian Morin (New Democratic Party)

Robin Orr (Green Party of Canada)

Toronto Centre

El-Farouk Khaki (New Democratic Party)

Donald Meredith (Conservative Party of Canada)

Doug Plumb (Canadian Action Party)

Bob Rae (Liberal Party of Canada)

Chris Tindal (Green Party of Canada)

Liz White (Animal Alliance Environment Voters Party of Canada)

Vancouver Quadra

Rebecca Coad (New Democratic Party)

Psamuel Frank (Canadian Action Party)

Dan Grice (Green Party of Canada)

Deborah Meredith (Conservative Party of Canada)

Joyce Murray (Liberal Party of Canada)

John Turner (neorhino.ca)


Lou Carcasole (Green Party of Canada)

Rini Ghosh (New Democratic Party)

Martha Hall Findlay (Liberal Party of Canada)

Maureen Harquail (Conservative Party of Canada)

The list of confirmed candidates is distributed to Canadian high commissions, embassies and consulates for electors abroad voting by special mail-in ballot. The list can be consulted at www.elections.ca or obtained by calling 1-800-463-6868, toll-free in Canada and the United States, 001-800-514-6868, toll-free in Mexico, or 613-993-2975 from anywhere in the world.

Federal by-elections will be held in Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River, Toronto Centre, Vancouver Quadra and Willowdale on Monday, March 17, 2008.


All electors must meet new voter identification requirements. For more information on the options available to electors, visit www.elections.ca.

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Contact Information