Elections Canada

Elections Canada

August 29, 2007 15:39 ET

Elections Canada Releases List of Confirmed Candidates for Monday, September 17, 2007, Federal By-Elections

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Aug. 29, 2007) - The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, today released the list of confirmed candidates nominated for the current federal by-elections in Outremont (Quebec), Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean (Quebec) and Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot (Quebec).

A total of 24 candidates have been confirmed in the electoral districts. Seven of the 16 registered political parties are represented by candidates and five candidates are running as independents.

The following candidates, with party affiliations as shown, are running in the federal by-elections:


Alexandre Amirizian (Canadian Action Party)
Romain Angeles (Independent)
Mahmood Raza Baig (Independent)
Jocelyn Coulon (Liberal Party of Canada)
Gilles Duguay (Conservative Party of Canada)
Jean-Paul Gilson (Bloc Quebecois)
Francois Yo Gourd (neorhino.ca)
Jocelyne Leduc (Independent)
Regent Millette (Independent)
Thomas Mulcair (New Democratic Party)
Francois Pilon (Green Party of Canada)
John C. Turmel (Independent)


Jean-Luc Boily (Green Party of Canada)
Louise Boulanger (Liberal Party of Canada)
Eric Dubois (New Democratic Party)
Celine Houde (Bloc Quebecois)
Denis Lebel (Conservative Party of Canada)


Bernard Barre (Conservative Party of Canada)
Jean Caumartin (Liberal Party of Canada)
Brigitte Sansoucy (New Democratic Party)
Michel St-Onge (Canadian Action Party)
Jacques Tetreault (Green Party of Canada)
Eve-Mary Thai Thi Lac (Bloc Quebecois)
Christian Willie Vanasse (neorhino.ca)

The list of confirmed candidates is distributed to Canadian high commissions, embassies and consulates for electors abroad voting by special mail-in ballot. The list can be consulted at www.elections.ca or obtained by calling 1-800-463-6868, toll-free in Canada and the United States, 001-800-514-6868, toll-free in Mexico, or 613-993-2975 from anywhere in the world.

By-elections will be held in Outremont, Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean and Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot on Monday, September 17, 2007.


Changes have been made to the Canada Elections Act.

All electors MUST prove their identity and residential address when they vote. For more detailed information on voter identification, visit www.elections.ca.

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Contact Information