PowerStream Inc.

PowerStream Inc.

April 01, 2014 12:10 ET

Electricity Distributors Association Recognizes PowerStream, CEO

Utility earns award for "Environmental Excellence", Brian Bentz receives "Chair's Citation"

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - April 1, 2014) - PowerStream walked away with two awards at the Electricity Distributors Association (EDA) Awards Dinner Monday night at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel.

An industry leader in sustainability, PowerStream was presented with the EDA's "Environmental Excellence Award" for the third time in six years, winning the honour previously in 2009 and 2011 as well. The utility's President and CEO, Brian Bentz, also was honoured, receiving the "Chair's Citation" for his outstanding, dedicated service to the EDA and the industry over an extended period of time.

PowerStream earned the Environmental Excellence Award based on several initiatives undertaken by the company in 2013 that demonstrated environmental benefit, stewardship, economic value, innovation and the ability of the programs to be adopted by other utilities. These included having a commuting program which has almost 30% of PowerStream staff commuting in a sustainable manner to suburban offices, offering recycling to employees for items such as writing instruments, batteries, electronic waste (e-waste), light bulbs, milk bags and for holding an Environmental Awareness Week of workshops, activities, and documentaries to engage staff in environmental issues in the company's communities and beyond.

Bentz was recognized for his leadership in PowerStream's development and growth as a company as well the active role he has assumed over the years within the energy industry. In addition to formerly serving as Chair of the EDA, Ontario Energy Association and the MEARIE Group, he has also served as a member of several industry organizations' Board of Directors and standing committees. He is currently the Chair of the Ontario Power Authority Stakeholder Advisory Committee; co-Chair of Collus PowerStream's Board of Directors and is a member of the Board of Directors for the Canadian Electricity Association as well as the Electrical Safety Authority.


  • "Earning industry honours such as the EDA's Environmental Excellence Award is a direct result of an organization's outstanding leadership," said Maurizio Bevilacqua, PowerStream Board Chair and Mayor of the City of Vaughan. "It is fitting and most appropriate for our President and CEO, Brian Bentz, to be recognized at the same time with the Chair's Citation. I commend and thank Brian for his tremendous leadership contributions to PowerStream, our local communities and the energy industry."


  • PowerStream has received awards on several occasions from the EDA including the Communication/Public Relations Excellence Award (2012) and the LDC Performance Excellence Award (2010).


PowerStream is a community-owned energy company providing power and related services to more than 365,000 customers residing or owning a business in communities located immediately north of Toronto and in Central Ontario. It is jointly owned by the Cities of Barrie, Markham and Vaughan.


The Electricity Distributors Association is the voice of Ontario's local electricity distributors, the publicly and privately owned companies that safely and reliably deliver electricity to over four million Ontario homes, businesses and public institutions.


eStream - Blog.PowerStream.ca

Facebook - PowerStreamPage

Twitter - @PowerStreamNews

YouTube - PowerStreamTV

LinkedIn - PowerStream

Google+ - +PowerStream

Contact Information