SOURCE: Atlantic Records

May 10, 2010 13:49 ET

Elektra Records Satiates "TRUE BLOOD®" Fans With Second Volume of Songs From HBO® Original Series

"TRUE BLOOD - Music From the HBO Original Series Volume II" Hits Stores and Online Retailers Everywhere On May 25th; Features New And Exclusive Tracks From Beck, Robbie Robertson, and Lucinda Williams w/Elvis Costello, Alongside Icons as Bob Dylan, Screamin' Jay Hawkins and the 13th Floor Elevators

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - May 10, 2010) -  Elektra Records has announced the release of "TRUE BLOOD - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES VOLUME II." The album -- which follows last year's Grammy® Award-nominated "TRUE BLOOD - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES" -- arrives in stores and all DSPs on May 25th. On the same day, True Blood: The Complete Second Season will be released on DVD and Blu-ray, just in time for the highly anticipated third season premiere of the series on HBO on June 13th.

"TRUE BLOOD - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES VOLUME II" comprises of music featured in both the second and third seasons of the show. The album includes new and exclusive tracks from an array of top stars including Beck, Lucinda Williams w/Elvis Costello, Thievery Corporation, and Robbie Robertson whose "How To Become Clairvoyant" heralds the renowned singer/songwriter/guitarist's first new solo album in more than 11 years (see attached track listing).

What's more, "TRUE BLOOD - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES VOLUME II" features two exclusive covers of songs made famous by the one and only Howlin' Wolf - "Howlin' For My Baby" performed by M. Ward and "Evil (Is Going On)" performed by Jace Everett & CC Adcock. Everett is best known for his sultry theme song on True Blood, "Bad Things," which is included on "TRUE BLOOD - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES."

"I am so proud of this collection of amazing songs and artists that have come together for this new True Blood soundtrack," stated Gary Calamar, music supervisor and soundtrack producer. "I think the new songs from Beck, Robbie Robertson, and Lucinda Williams are some of their best work, haunting and beautiful. If Jace Everret and CC Adcock's new version of Howlin Wolf's "Evil" doesn't scare the pants off of you... you're a stronger person than me."

The new collection also includes a sweeping range of blues, R&B and rock 'n' roll classics performed by such iconic artists as Bob Dylan, Screamin' Jay Hawkins, Jr. Walker & The All Stars, Buddy & Julie Miller, Eels and the legendary 13th Floor Elevators.

"True Blood is very atmospheric and reflective of the backwoods of Louisiana, so it's fitting that we choose music that brings out the distinctive cultural heritage of the area," said Alan Ball, creator of the show. "It's great to see that not only the show, but the music itself has been embraced by fans."

In addition to its standard release, a deluxe edition of "TRUE BLOOD - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES VOLUME II" is also being made available via all DSPs on May 25th. The 18-track collection adds additional previously unreleased tracks, including offerings from Stone Temple Pilots and Jakob Dylan as well as an acoustic version of the show's theme song.

"TRUE BLOOD - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES," which featured tracks from the acclaimed HBO drama's first season, proved a sensation upon its release last year. With songs performed by a wide-range of Louisiana natives reflecting the series' steamy setting, the collection received a Grammy® Award nomination in the "Best Compilation Album For Motion Picture, Television, Or Other Visual Media" category.

Centered in the fictional town of Bon Temps, the Emmy® and Golden Globe®-winning True Blood series follows the romance between waitress Sookie Stackhouse (played by Anna Paquin), who can read minds, and 173-year-old vampire Bill Compton (played by Stephen Moyer). Alan Ball (creator of the Emmy®-winning HBO series Six Feet Under) is creator and executive producer the show, which is based on the best-selling Sookie Stackhouse novels by Charlaine Harris.

Gary Calamar serves as music supervisor and soundtrack producer for the television series and both "TRUE BLOOD - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES VOLUME II" and "TRUE BLOOD - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES VOLUME I."

For more information, please visit or


In Stores and Online May 25
(**Bonus track on Digital Deluxe Version)

1. "Howlin' For My Baby" - M. Ward
2. "Evil (Is Going On)" - Jace Everett & CC Adcock
3. "Bad Blood" - Beck
4. "How To Become Clairvoyant" - Robbie Robertson
5. "Shake And Fingerpop" - Jr. Walker and The All Stars
6. "Frenzy" - Screamin' Jay Hawkins
7. "Kiss Like Your Kiss" - Lucinda Williams w/Elvis Costello
8. "Gasoline And Matches" - Buddy & Julie Miller
9. "You Did (Bomp Shooby Dooby Bomp)" - Chuck Prophet
10. "You're Gonna Miss Me" - The 13th Floor Elevators
11. "Fresh Blood" - Eels
12. "The Forgotten People (Bon Temps Remix)" - Thievery Corporation
13. "New World In My View" - King Britt & Sister Gertrude Morgan
14. "Beyond Here Lies Nothin'" - Bob Dylan
15. "Bad Things (Acoustic)" - Jace Everett **
16. "Ain't No Invisible Man" - Jakob Dylan**
17. "You Can't Drive Me Away" - Stone Temple Pilots **
18. "Dig" - Headbone featuring Bubba Kendall **

(C) 2010 Home Box Office, Inc. All Rights Reserved. HBO and related service marks are the property of Home Box Office, Inc.

Contact Information