SOURCE: Embarcadero Technologies

Embarcadero Technologies

August 14, 2014 09:35 ET

Embarcadero Webinar to Showcase Best Practices and Techniques for Understanding Explain Plans and Improving SQL Performance

Dan Hotka, Oracle ACE Director and Embarcadero's Scott Walz to Share How Oracle Processes and Arrives at Explain Plans

SAN FRANCISCO, CA--(Marketwired - Aug 14, 2014) - Embarcadero Technologies, a leading provider of software solutions for application and database development, is hosting a webinar on Wednesday August 20, 2014 that will help database developers better understand Explain Plans. Dan Hotka, training specialist and Oracle ACE Director, and Scott Waltz, DBA evangelist at Embarcadero, will focus on best practices for Explain Plans, and will also provide attendees with tips on how to improve SQL performance.

Overview:  Explain Plans Tips and Techniques Webinar
This webinar will demystify how Oracle processes and arrives at Explain Plans. It will provide developers with strategies and techniques for refining skills to optimize a query and examine how the Cost-Base Optimizer works. Developers who participate in the webinar will learn the following:

  • Useful Explain Plan tools and scripts
  • Understanding Oracle Explain Plan
  • How the CBO makes its decisions
  • Query Transformations
  • How tables are processed/joined
  • How Indexes are processed
  • Explain Plan Line Items

When: Wednesday August 20th, 2014
7:00 AM PDT / 9:00 AM CDT / 10:00 AM EDT
11:00 AM PDT / 1:00 PM CDT / 2:00 PM EDT

Format:  1 hour live webinar (45-min presentation followed by 15-min Q&A). Participants will be able to submit questions during the webinar.

Presenters: Dan Hotka - Training Specialist and Oracle ACE Director
Dan Hotka is a Training Specialist and an Oracle ACE Director who has over 36 years in the computer industry, over 30 years of experience with Oracle products. His experience with the Oracle RDBMS dates back to the Oracle V4.0 days. Dan enjoys sharing his knowledge of the Oracle RDBMS. Dan is well-published with 12 Oracle books and well over 200 published articles. He is frequently published in Oracle trade journals, regularly blogs, and speaks at Oracle conferences and user groups around the world.

Scott Walz - DBA Evangelist for Embarcadero Technologies
Scott Walz has more than 20 years of experience in the area of database development and currently serves as the Director of Software Consultants for Embarcadero Technologies. Prior to joining Embarcadero 12 years ago, Scott served as a development lead for Louisville Gas & Electric. He holds a bachelor's degree in computer information systems from Western Kentucky University.

Registration: Online registration for the Webinar is now open at: embt.co/1u7qMah

An on-demand replay of the webinar and PDF of the slide presentation will be available to registrants after the webinar.

Tweet This:  New @EmbarcaderoTech Webinar will ensure developers understand Explain Plans, help Improve SQL Performance: embt.co/1u7qMah 

About Embarcadero Technologies
Embarcadero Technologies, Inc. is a leading provider of award-winning tools for application developers and database professionals so they can design systems right, build them faster and run them better, regardless of their platform or programming language. Ninety of the Fortune 100 and an active community of more than three million users worldwide rely on Embarcadero products to increase productivity, reduce costs, simplify change management and compliance, and accelerate innovation. Founded in 1993, Embarcadero is headquartered in San Francisco, with offices located around the world. To learn more, please visit www.embarcadero.com.