Ember Resources Inc.

Ember Resources Inc.

September 09, 2008 18:03 ET

Ember Resources Inc. Announces Changes to Board of Directors

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Sept. 9, 2008) - Ember Resources Inc. (TSX:EBR) ("Ember") announced today that the proposed changes to its Board of Directors and management team first announced August 14, 2008 were made effective as of today's date.

Ember is pleased to welcome Messrs. Donald F. Archibald, Paul Beitel, Donald J. Nelson and Steven J. Pully to its board of directors. Messrs. Jack Peltier, Richard Todd and Terry Meek have resigned from the board.

Donald F. Archibald - Mr. Archibald is Chairman of Iteration Energy Ltd., an intermediate oil and gas company trading on the TSX. With over 20 years of industry experience, he has founded and served as Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of three successful TSX listed oil and gas companies, Cyries Energy Inc., Cequel Energy Inc. and Cypress Energy Inc. Mr. Archibald holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree and a Masters in Business Administration.

Paul Beitel - Mr. Beitel is Senior Vice-President with ARC Financial Corporation. Mr. Beitel has twenty years of experience in the oil and gas industry, having spent the last ten years at ARC. He is a director of the Canadian Society for Unconventional Gas and serves on the board of directors of a number of Canadian private oil and gas companies. Mr. Beitel is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta and of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and has a Masters in Business Administration.

Donald J. Nelson - Mr. Nelson is president of Fairway Resources Inc., a private firm providing consulting services to the oil and gas industry. Mr. Nelson is a Professional Engineer and has over thirty-five years of oil and gas experience, including corporate management, engineering and operations with exposure to companies of various sizes, including having served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Summit Resources Limited, a TSX listed oil and gas company. Mr. Nelson is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta and the Society of Petroleum Engineers.

Steven J. Pully - Mr. Pully is general counsel of Carlson Capital, L.P., a multi-strategy fund with $5 billion of assets under management. Mr. Pully has over 20 years of experience working in the investment industry, including his experience as President of Newcastle Capital Management, L.P., a fund with $650 million of assets under management. Mr. Pully was an energy investment banker at Banc of America Securities, Inc. and Bear Stearns. Mr. Pully is licensed as an attorney and CPA in the State of Texas and is also a CFA Charterholder.

Messrs. Dennis Balderston, Fox Benton, Colin Boyer, Douglas Dafoe, Tom Drolet and Jeff Van Steenbergen will continue to serve as directors of Ember along with Messrs. Archibald, Beitel, Nelson and Pully. Both Messrs. Peltier and Todd, who resigned from the board today, were instrumental in the formation and guidance of Ember since its inception in 2005. The board has acknowledged and thanked them for their contributions and wishes them success in their future endeavors. Mr. Terry Meek, who has also resigned as a director, has assumed the title of Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer of the Company.

To further strengthen the independence of the board, Mr. Douglas Dafoe has resigned as Chairman of the Board and Mr. Colin Boyer has taken on the role of Chairman of the Board. Mr. Douglas Dafoe will remain a director of Ember and assume the title of President and Chief Executive Officer. In addition, the Company has promoted Quinton Rafuse to the position of Vice-President, Geoscience. The rest of the management team remains unchanged and is comprised of: Bruce Ryan, Tom Zuorro, Ken Ronaghan and Steve Gell.

Ember Resources Inc. is a resource company specializing in coalbed methane (CBM) with extensive land and resource holdings in Alberta, Canada. Ember's shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the trading symbol "EBR".

Contact Information

  • Ember Resources Inc.
    Mr. Douglas A. Dafoe
    President & CEO
    (403) 270-0803
    (403) 270-2850 (FAX)
    Ember Resources Inc.
    Mr. Terry S. Meek
    Executive Vice-President & COO
    (403) 270-0803
    (403) 270-2850 (FAX)