SOURCE: Emergency Nurses Association (ENA)

Emergency Nurses Association (ENA)

July 01, 2015 11:55 ET

Emergency Nurses Association Announces Annual Achievement Award Recipients

Twelve Awards to Be Issued at New, Expanded Emergency Nursing Conference in October

DES PLAINES, IL--(Marketwired - July 01, 2015) - The Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) today announced the recipients of 12 annual achievement awards. The annual awards recognize emergency nurses and exemplary supporters of the profession who demonstrate exceptional professional practice, innovation, leadership and advocacy.

Healthcare professionals nominate colleagues who are extraordinary practitioners and continually go above and beyond the call of duty in emergency nursing. Each award has specific requirements and criteria, and the ENA Awards Committee reviews each blinded submission.

"It is an honor to recognize these outstanding individuals who are supporting and advancing the profession," said ENA president Matthew F. Powers, MS, BSN, RN, MICP, CEN. "This year's recipients have made significant contributions to emergency nursing and serve as true role models to the profession."

Of the 12 awards, the Judith C. Kelleher Award, named after ENA's co-founder, is ENA's most prestigious achievement award. It honors an ENA member who has consistently demonstrated excellence in emergency nursing and has made significant contributions to the profession and to ENA. The 2015 Judith C. Kelleher Award recipient is Nancy Stephens Donatelli, MS, RN, CEN, NE-BC, FAEN of New Wilmington, Penn.

The additional 2015 Annual Achievement Award recipients are:

  • Barbara A. Foley Quality, Safety and Injury Prevention Award: Jacquelyn Glendinning, RN (Olean, N.Y.)
  • Behind the Scenes Award: Carol Twombly, MSN, RN (San Antonio)
  • Clinical Nurse Specialist Award: Jeannie Burnie, MS, APRN, CEN, AGCNS-BC (Lebanon, Ohio)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Phil Booth, MSN, RN, CEN (Burbank, Calif.)
  • Media Award: Indianapolis Coalition for Patient Safety and MESH Coalition
  • Nurse Manager Award: Courtney Almond, BSN, RN, CEN (Concord, N.C.)
  • Nursing Competency in Aging Award: Marievette Thomas, BSN, RN (Chagrin Falls, Ohio)
  • Nursing Education Award: Andi Foley, DNP, RN, ACCNS-AG, CEN (Maple Valley, Wash.)
  • Nursing Practice and Professionalism Award: Barbra Bachmeier, JD, MSN, RN, APN, NP-C (Lawrence, Ind.)
  • Rising Star Award: Gina Carbino, BSN, RN, CEN, SANE-A (Conway, S.C.)
  • Team Award: Indy Roadrunners ENA Chapter 134

Award recipients will be recognized at ENA's Awards Gala on Saturday, October 3, 2015 in Orlando during Emergency Nursing 2015, the premier emergency nursing conference.

About the Emergency Nurses Association
The Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) is the premier professional nursing association dedicated to defining the future of emergency nursing through advocacy, education, research, innovation, and leadership. Founded in 1970, ENA has proven to be an indispensable resource to the global emergency nursing community. With more than 40,000 members worldwide, ENA advocates for patient safety, develops industry-leading practice standards and guidelines, and guides emergency healthcare public policy. ENA members have expertise in triage, patient care, disaster preparedness, and all aspects of emergency care. Additional information is available

The following files are available for download:

Contact Information

  • Media Contact:
    Marie Grimaldi
    Communications & PR Manager, ENA