Yinka Dene Alliance

Yinka Dene Alliance

December 19, 2013 17:26 ET

Enbridge Joint Review Panel Recommendation Has No Effect on First Nations Northern Gateway Ban: Yinka Dene Alliance

Recommendations from flawed Joint Review Panel process are of touch with the reality on the ground, say First Nations

VANDERHOOF, BRITISH COLUMBIA/YINKA DENE TERRITORIES--(Marketwired - Dec. 19, 2013) - First Nations of the Yinka Dene Alliance (YDA) reacted with disappointment but little surprise to today's Joint Review Panel (JRP) recommendation to approve Enbridge's Northern Gateway pipelines and tankers project, emphasizing that Enbridge's Northern Gateway pipelines have already been banned from YDA territories as a matter of Indigenous law.

Chief Martin Louie of the Nadleh Whut'en First Nation, speaking on behalf of YDA, issued the following statement:

"It's no surprise that a flawed process has led to a flawed recommendation. This project will never be built. The Yinka Dene Alliance has clearly refused permission for Enbridge's pipelines to cut through our lands and waters, and the federal and provincial governments must accept that this project cannot go ahead.

"Our position is clearly stated in the Save the Fraser Declaration, which bans Enbridge's Northern Gateway pipelines from our territories. Nothing is changed by the JRP's pronouncement. Enbridge is not from this place, does not understand our laws and customs, and will profit by damaging our environment now and into the future.

"We have put ourselves in the frontline for all British Columbians and together we are fighting for our homes, our future and our children's future. We are parents, and our responsibilities to future generations are not subject to negotiation, or judgment, by others. We have drawn a line in the earth they cannot, and will not, cross."

Contact Information

  • For further information on Thursday December 19 or
    Friday December 20, please contact:
    Nadleh Whut'en First Nation
    Chief Martin Louie

    Nak'azdli First Nation Councilor
    Ann Marie Sam

    Yinka Dene Alliance
    Geraldine Thomas-Flurer