Ontario Energy Association

Ontario Energy Association

August 14, 2007 16:06 ET

Energy Leaders Meet in Niagara Falls-September 5th and 6th

Phil Fontaine to Share First Nations Perspective and Stephane Dion to Deliver Breakfast Keynote

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Aug. 14, 2007) - The Ontario Energy Association's (OEA) 2007 Annual General Meeting and Conference - to be held at the Sheraton Fallsview Hotel and Conference Centre in Niagara Falls on September 5th and 6th - will feature keynote addresses by Stephane Dion, Federal Liberal Leader and Leader of the Official Opposition (September 6th breakfast keynote) and Phil Fontaine, National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations (September 6th luncheon address).

"The theme of this year's conference is focused on the key business, environmental, regulatory and policy issues which are impacting and will continue to impact Ontario's electricity and natural gas sectors," said Shane Pospisil, OEA President and CEO. "We are pleased to have Phil and Stephane as our keynote speakers this year and look forward to having them share some of their perspectives on what they see as the key challenges facing our sector and, for that matter, all Canadians in the years ahead."

OEA Chair, and President and CEO of Toronto Hydro Corporation, David O'Brien added: "Good constructive dialogue, excellent and thought-provoking speakers, and a sharing of ideas and perspectives is what this conference is all about. Clearly, we're all looking forward to hearing from Stephane and Phil, as well as the industry leaders and key decision-makers who will also be participating in the conference."

As with last year's event (which drew over 400 participants), the OEA has again assembled an interesting and diverse mix of speakers and panelists, including:

- Scott Balfour, President and Chief Financial Officer, Aecon Group Inc.;

- Brian Bentz, President and CEO, PowerStream Inc.;

- Bruce Campbell, Vice-President, Independent Electricity System Operator;

- Jan Carr, CEO, Ontario Power Authority;

- Duane Cramer, Vice-President, Development, Sithe Global Power LLC;

- Julie Dill, President, Union Gas;

- Laura Formusa, President and CEO (Acting), Hydro One;

- James Gillis, Vice-Chair, Desjardins Securities;

- Harry Goldgut, Chairman and CEO, Brookfield Power;

- Duncan Hawthorne, President and CEO, Bruce Power;

- Jim Keech, President and CEO, Utilities Kingston;

- Charles Keizer, Partner, Ogilvy Renault LLP;

- Rebecca MacDonald, Executive Chair, Energy Savings Income Fund;

- Paul McMillan, Senior Vice-President, Ontario, EPCOR;

- Al Monaco, President, Enbridge Gas Distribution;

- David O'Brien, President and CEO, Toronto Hydro Corporation;

- Robert Power, Co-Chair, National Energy Group, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP;

- John Todd, President, Elenchus Research Associates;

- George Vegh, Counsel, McCarthy Tetrault LLP; and

- Howard Wetston, Chair, Ontario Energy Board.

For more information on the OEA's 2007 Annual Conference (which is open to both members and non-members), or to register, please visit www.energyontario.ca, or call Marg Taggart at 416-961-2339 ext. 221.

The 170-member Ontario Energy Association (OEA) is Ontario's premier energy trade organization, representing firms and organizations involved in the transmission, distribution and marketing of natural gas; and the generation, transmission, distribution and marketing of electricity across the province. OEA members together employ about 32,000 Ontarians and last year accounted for about $34 billion in market revenues.

Contact Information