Ontario Energy Association

Ontario Energy Association

September 20, 2010 21:08 ET

Energy Minister Duguid Announces Energy Consultations at Ontario Energy Association Awards Dinner

NIAGARA FALLS, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Sept. 20, 2010) - The Honourable Brad Duguid, Minister of Energy, today announced that the Ontario government is seeking input from Ontarians as it updates its Long-Term Energy Plan.

Speaking at the Achievement Awards Dinner held at the 2010 Annual Conference of the Ontario Energy Association (OEA), Duguid said the plan will help guide the province in building a reliable, clean and cost-effective electricity system.

"Our power system is taking great strides toward becoming stronger, more reliable and cleaner than ever before," said Duguid. "Moving this updated plan forward is essential, so that our children and grandchildren can rely on the lights turning on for years to come."

"It is important that Ontarians understand the importance of energy to our way of life," said Elise Herzig, President and Chief Executive Officer of the OEA. "Minister Duguid's announcement is encouraging because it recognizes that Ontario's residents all have a stake in ensuring the province has a robust, environmentally friendly energy system."

Following Duguid's announcement, the OEA named Julie Dill, President of Union Gas Limited, the 2010 OEA Leader of the Year, and PowerStream Inc. the 2010 OEA Company of the Year.

The awards recognize leaders of exceptional vision, integrity and accomplishment, and companies whose performance sets higher standards for best practices, exceeded objectives in completing a project or program, or had major achievement in areas such consumer relations, and strategic restructuring. They were presented during the 2010 OEA Annual Conference on September 20 in Niagara Falls, Ontario.

"Julie Dill is an exceptional industry leader, whose deep-rooted values and strength of character is renowned among her peers and staff, and whose dedication to her work and employees is exemplary," said Elise Herzig, OEA President and CEO. "Her commitment to improving the energy sector is acknowledged and appreciated by her colleagues and peers throughout the industry."

Julie is described by her peers as a visionary and an innovative leader. She consistently strives for integrity within the sector and has earned a reputation for being instrumental in the development and implementation of industry-leading solutions.

"I am truly humbled to be named Energy Leader of the Year," said Dill. "Energy has become one of the most dynamic and important files for Ontario, and we must continue to balance the needs of our customers, our communities, our employees and our shareholders. I believe that natural gas must continue to play a greater role in the fuel mix to meet the energy security, economic and environmental needs of Ontario."

Under the leadership of its President and Chief Executive Officer, Brian Bentz, PowerStream Inc. has been able to successfully manage the challenges faced with several merger and acquisition transactions that has positioned it to become the second-largest municipally owned electricity distribution company in Ontario.

"It's indeed an honour to be recognized by our peers in the energy industry," said Bentz. "What we have accomplished as an organization can only be achieved to the extent we have a Board of Directors that believes not only in the company's future vision for energy delivery, but also in its people. Luckily for us, we have both."

"The leadership demonstrated by PowerStream in a time of constant change for the company is extraordinary," said Herzig. Their commitment to their communities, their stakeholders and the environment makes PowerStream a true leader in the industry. On behalf of the entire OEA, congratulations to Julie and PowerStream for their outstanding achievements."

The Ontario Energy Association (OEA) has more than 170 member companies representing the full diversity of the energy industry in Ontario, including power producers, marketers and retailers, manufacturers, contractors, service providers, and energy consultants.

Contact Information

  • Ontario Energy Association
    John Priddle, Vice President
    Strategic Communications and Stakeholder Affairs
    (416) 961-2339 ext. 233