SOURCE: Online News Association

Online News Association

May 29, 2013 14:00 ET

Entries Open for 2013 Online Journalism Awards

WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwired - May 29, 2013) - The Online News Association, the world's largest membership organization of digital journalists, and the University of Miami's School of Communication today opened the call for entries for the 2013 Online Journalism Awards (OJAs), emblematic of the best in digital journalism.

Nine of the 29 awards come with a total of $37,500 in prize money, courtesy of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and the Gannett Foundation, including a new $5,000 award honoring the best in Watchdog Journalism.

"Some say journalism is in trouble, but we think these awards show the opposite is true," said Joshua Hatch, OJA chair and Senior Editor for Data and Interactives at The Chronicle of Higher Education. "When we look at what's happening on digital platforms -- from the creation of new user experiences to the power small organizations have in reaching large audiences through their important work -- we're thrilled by what we see."

As in past years, the 2013 OJAs have been slightly modified to keep up with the rapidly evolving media industry. Here are details on new developments:

Non-English: In the past, the OJAs have had exclusive categories for non-English entries to provide a spotlight on work being done beyond the North American shores. This year, reflecting ONA's growing global membership, all categories are open to entries of all languages.

New category: The Gannett Foundation Award for Watchdog Journalism, along with its $5,000 prize, will honor work that keeps tabs on authority through objective, neutral, fair and impartial coverage. Just as the Knight Award for Public Service and the Gannett Foundation Award for Innovative Investigative Journalism highlight serving one's community and enterprising investigations, respectively, this new award will reward the efforts of journalists keeping an eye on those in power.

Students: There are now two categories specifically for students -- one for individuals and small teams and a second for larger group projects that might involve a dozen or more students. Entry fees in these two categories for ONA member students also have been lowered to $15 per category.

Deadlines: The 2013 OJAs are open to work published between June 16, 2012, and June 15, 2013. Applicants are invited to submit their work until Friday, June 21, 2013, at 11:59 p.m. ET in one of the twelve categories after reading the Rules & Eligibility.

Judging: The finalists and the winners will be selected through a two-step process. A group of 24 industry-leading journalists and new media professionals team up in pairs to rank finalists in each category. In September, 12 of those judges will convene to select winners.

Following tradition, this year's honorees will be announced on the final night of ONA13, the Online News Association Conference and Awards Banquet, Oct. 17-19, at the Marriott Marquis in Atlanta.

For the complete list of 2012 winners, visit

The Online News Association is the world's largest association of digital journalists. ONA's mission is to inspire innovation and excellence among journalists to better serve the public. The membership includes news writers, producers, designers, editors, bloggers, developers, photographers, educators, students and others who produce news for and support digital delivery systems. ONA also hosts the annual Online News Association conference and administers the Online Journalism Awards.

The University of Miami School of Communication prepares forward-thinking, analytical and responsible communication professionals for success in a global society. The School offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in advertising, cinema, communication studies, interactive media, journalism and public relations, with a total current enrollment of approximately 1100 students and 58 full-time faculty members.

Contact Information