Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation

September 13, 2013 13:49 ET

Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation Appoints Jennifer Diakiw New President

Canada's inventive minds and achievers now have a closer ally in Calgarian Jennifer Diakiw, newly appointed President of the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwired - Sept. 13, 2013) - Canada's most prestigious and largest awards for Canadian innovators, the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation announced today Jennifer Diakiw has been appointed President of the Foundation.

Ms. Diakiw, a well-known leader, brings more than two decades of experience garnered most recently as vice-president of the Heart & Stroke Foundation of Alberta, NWT & Nunavut, and prior to that with the University of Calgary Faculty of Education, SAIT Polytechnic and stints the Alberta Ministries of Economic Development, Labour, the Office of the Premier and the Public Affairs Bureau. Steeped in community volunteerism, Ms. Diakiw is currently serving on Mount Royal University's Board of Governors. Past commitments have included service with the Calgary Counselling Centre, the Management Committee of Special Olympics Calgary, The Famous Five Foundation and numerous other community-based projects.

In making the announcement, Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation Chair John Read said, "Jennifer Diakiw brings a wealth of association leadership and a depth of fund development skills that will see the Foundation expand on its mandates of recognizing and encouraging innovation in Canada over the next decade. Canada's inventive minds and achievers now have another champion in Jennifer Diakiw, as the Foundation's newly appointed President," he said.

Ms. Diakiw joins the Foundation in advance of its 32nd annual Awards Gala, to be held this year in Calgary on Wed. Oct. 16, following a national symposium on Canadian Innovation to be hosted Tues. Oct. 15 by the University of Calgary. Since the Foundation was established in 1980, more than 2,500 Canadians have been honoured as nominees and close to 300 Canadians have received $4.5 million in awards.

"The three-decade success of the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation has brought to light untold stories of Canadian innovation that have had global impacts through their benefits to society in a variety of fields from medicine to agriculture, to energy and social development. The young Canadian Award recipients chosen each year at the Canada Wide Science Fair have benefited greatly from the support and encouragement they receive from the Foundation. I look forward to furthering the awareness of Canadians who have the imagination to innovate and the stamina to succeed as Canada strives to create a climate of innovation in Canada and build a knowledge-based economy," said Ms. Diakiw. "I know this year's selection of Manning Innovation Award winners will be yet another example of the health of Canada's innovative spirit."

More information and tickets for the Oct. 16 Calgary Gala available at Twitter: @ManningAwardsCA Facebook: Ernest C. Manning Awards.

High Res photo available.

Contact Information