Elections Canada

Elections Canada

February 21, 2012 16:27 ET

Establishment of the Commissions for the Redistribution of Federal Electoral Districts

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Feb. 21, 2012) - The electoral boundaries commissions responsible for the redistribution of federal electoral districts have now been formally established.

The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, is pleased to announce that he has transmitted the 2011 Census population numbers to the chairs of all 10 independent commissions, who can now begin the process of readjusting Canada's federal electoral boundaries.

The commissions work separately and independently in each of the 10 provinces and have approximately 10 months to review the federal electoral boundaries for their province, according to the new seat allocation in the House of Commons and the new census data. As part of the process, they will consult with Canadians before making a final decision as to where the new boundaries will lie.

Each of the 10 provincial commissions consists of three members. The chair is appointed by the Chief Justice of the province and the other two members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Commons. As Nunavut, the Northwest Territories and the Yukon constitute one electoral district each, they do not require federal electoral boundaries commissions.

Members of the federal electoral boundaries commissions:

British Columbia
The Honourable John E. Hall (Chair)
Mr. Stewart Ladyman
Mr. J. Peter Meekison
The Honourable Carole M. Conrad (Chair)
Ms. Donna Wilson
Mr. Ed Eggerer
The Honourable Ronald C. Mills (Chair)
Mr. John Courtney
Mr. David Marit
The Honourable Richard J. Chartier (Chair)
Mr. Paul Thomas
Ms. Kelly Saunders
The Honourable George T. S. Valin (Chair)
Mr. Leslie Pal
Mr. Douglas Colbourne
The Honourable Jules Allard (Chair)
Mr. Raymond Hudon
Mr. Michel Doyon
New Brunswick
The Honourable Alexandre Deschênes (Chair)
Mr. Patrick Neil Malcolmson
The Honourable Thomas Riordon
Nova Scotia
The Honourable Allan P. Boudreau (Chair)
Ms. Louise Carbert
Mr. David Blaikie
Prince Edward Island
The Honourable Gordon L. Campbell (Chair)
Mr. Armand DesRoches
Mr. Eugene Murphy
Newfoundland and Labrador
The Honourable Keith J. Mercer (Chair)
Ms. Julie Eveleigh
Mr. Herbert Clarke

The procedures for carrying out the redistribution of federal electoral districts are set out in the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act. Under the provisions of the Act, Elections Canada provides technical and administrative support services to the commissions.

For more information about this process, visit www.elections.ca.

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Contact Information