Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario

Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario

August 16, 2005 15:21 ET

ETFO honours extraordinary achievements

Nine awarded for extraordinary achievements Attention: Assignment Editor, City Editor, Education Editor, News Editor TORONTO, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Aug. 16, 2005) -
Emily Noble, president of the Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO), today presented awards to nine people for their extraordinary achievements in the federation and in the community.

Rian McLaughlin, president of the Hamilton-Wentworth Occasional Teacher Local, received the ETFO Local Leadership Award for her outstanding leadership and service at the local level. "Rian has been a long-time advocate for occasional teachers and has demonstrated the ability to lead in a variety of situations," Noble said.

Tom Flemming, Randy Drexler, and Mario Spagnuolo of the Greater Essex Teacher Local were given the ETFO Local Website of the Year Award for keeping members informed through the local's website www.greaterteachers.com. "This website presents a clear and professional face to the public, while at the same time providing a valuable resource centre for local teachers," Noble said

Kurt Uriarte, first vice-president of the Peel Teacher Local, was given the Newsletter Editor's Award (multi-sheet) and Phillip Mack, president of the Thames Valley Teacher Local, received the Newsletter Editor's Award (single sheet) for their excellent local publications. "These publications provide news and information that connect members to their colleagues, their profession, and their union."

Mario Spagnuolo of the Greater Essex Teacher Local also became the first-ever recipient of the New Teacher of the Year Award, created last year to recognize a teacher in the first five years of teaching for exemplary teaching practices, involvement with the union, and personifying the goals and objectives of ETFO. " In his four years of teaching, Mario has demonstrated the highest commitment to the profession," Noble said.

Donna Miller, executive director of Hiatus House, Windsor, received the Women Working in Social Activism on behalf of Women and Children Award in recognition of her dedication to the elimination of violence against women and children. The $5000 award is granted each year by ETFO to a non-ETFO individual or group for outstanding social activism on behalf of women and children in Ontario.

Douglas Helmer, a secondary school teacher, received the Humanitarian Award for a non-ETFO Member for outstanding service to education and the community. "Douglas is recognized for his efforts to ensure that disabled children in India receive the education that might normally be denied them," said Noble.

The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario represents 65,000 public elementary school teachers and education workers across Ontario and is the largest teacher union in Canada outside of Quebec.
/For further information: Mary Morison, 416-962-3836, Ext. 2337, 416-948-3406 (cell), mmorison@etfo.org
Aug. 15-18 - ETFO Media Room, VIP Lounge, Toronto Sheraton Centre
416-947-4980 (phone), 416-947-4981 (fax)/ IN: EDUCATION

Contact Information

  • Johanna Brand, Communications Officer, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario
    Primary Phone: 416-962-3836 ext. 2339
    Secondary Phone: 416-948-2554
    Toll-Free: 888-868-3836
    E-mail: jbrand@etfo.org