Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario

Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario

August 15, 2006 13:19 ET

ETFO Presents Awards for Contributions to the Federation

Attention: Assignment Editor, City Editor, Education Editor, News Editor, Government/Political Affairs Editor TORONTO--(CCNMatthews - Aug. 15, 2006) - Today, ETFO members who have made a significant contribution to their federation over the past year were presented with awards by Emily Noble, President of the Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario.

At the 2005 Annual Meeting, delegates established an award to recognize an ETFO health and safety activist. This award was granted for the first time today to Sharlene Smith from the Lakehead Teacher Local.

The Local Leadership Award this year was presented to Dave Patterson, President of the Hastings-Prince Edward Teacher Local. Noble said, "Dave has been a long time advocate for teachers and has demonstrated an innate ability to lead in a variety of situations."

The Website Award was presented to Deb Wells, the first Vice-President and Allan Hesketh of the Limestone Teacher Local. The judges said that their website, www.etfolimestone.on.ca, "is dynamic and user-friendly."

Joanne Chapman-Beavais and Kim Pearson were the recipients of the Multi-sheet Publication Award for their newsletter for the Waterloo Region Occasional Teacher Local. Noble said, "Thoughtful, provocative, and informative, this newsletter is an excellent tool for the OTs in Waterloo."

The 2006 Occasional Teacher of the Year Award was presented to Bev Ferlatte, from the Upper Canada Occasional Teacher Local. Ferlatte is a career occasional teacher who understands the value of working cooperatively with her fellow professionals within education.

In presenting the awards, Noble said, "I am honoured to present these awards and proud of the work that has been undertaken by the recipients."

The ETFO 2006 Annual Meeting continues until August 17 at the Westin Harbour Castle in Toronto.

The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario represents 70,000 public elementary teachers and education workers across Ontario and is the largest teacher federation in Canada outside Quebec.
/For further information: Mary Morison: 416-962-3836 Ext. 2337; 416-948-3406 (cell); mmorison@etfo.org

Media Room Westin Harbour Castle: 416-957-7181

Contact Information

  • Johanna Brand, ETFO Communications
    Primary Phone: 416-962-3836 ext. 2339
    Secondary Phone: 416-948-2554
    Toll-Free: 888-838-3836
    E-mail: jbrand@etfo.org