General Store Publishing House

General Store Publishing House

December 10, 2010 12:00 ET

Even Calves Are Born on Christmas Eve

RENFREW, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Dec. 10, 2010) - William's Gift is an honest and heartfelt description of the life, and life journey, of a country veterinarian.

Dr. Helen Douglas is the first Canadian woman veterinarian to have written her memoirs. In this realistic and touching novel, Dr. Douglas tells stories about the people, animals and experiences she has encountered throughout 30 years as a mixed practitioner all over Canada. Touches of humour can be found in even the saddest of situations The reader witnesses the personal growth of a young professional, with all of its ups and downs. William's Gift takes the reader from city to country practice, from one side of the country to the other. The stories share a common thread of love for animals, and the humility that is needed to pursue this career and endure.

The memoir contains something for every animal lover, and has been enjoyed by readers from 10 to 90 years of age. For fans of James Herriot, William's Gift is a contemporary Canadian version of their favourite animal stories. It is also highly relevant to young people wishing to be veterinarians or involved in any aspect of animal care. William's Gift, in the end, is as much about what animals do for people as what people do for their animal companions.

William's Gift retails $24.95. It is available in bookstores, or can be ordered from General Store Publishing House at www.gsph.com.

Contact Information