SOURCE: Excellence Canada

Excellence Canada Logo

Canada Awards for Excellence LOGO

October 24, 2016 06:00 ET

Excellence Canada announces the 2016 Canada Awards for Excellence Recipients

TORONTO, ON--(Marketwired - October 24, 2016) - Excellence Canada is pleased to announce that, at the 32nd anniversary of the Canada Awards for Excellence, 22 Canadian organizations will be receiving the Canada Awards for Excellence for outstanding performance in award categories that include: Excellence, Innovation & Wellness®; Quality; Healthy Workplace®; and Mental Health at Work®.

The Patron of the Canada Awards for Excellence program is His Excellency, the Right Honourable David Johnston, C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D., Governor General of Canada.

Excellence Canada's mission is to help organizations in all sectors become the best-in-class by implementing standards of excellence. Excellence Canada is a not-for-profit organization that certifies and recognizes organizations that embody these attributes: they are customer focused, competitive, economically and environmentally sustainable, are good corporate citizens and actively pursue strategies to improve the mental and physical health and safety of their employees to create a healthy workplace culture that attracts and retains the best people.

The Canada Awards for Excellence is an annual awards program that recognizes outstanding achievements by organizations in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors, from coast-to-coast across Canada.

Shirlee Sharkey, Chair of Excellence Canada, stated: "We are so very proud to bestow Canada Awards for Excellence upon this year's remarkable recipients. Our award recipients are role models of excellence in the areas of leadership, governance, strategy, planning, customer experience, employee engagement, innovation, and wellness. We applaud their outstanding achievements."

Allan Ebedes, President and CEO of Excellence Canada, commented: "Over the past 32 years we have recognized over 600 outstanding organizations for meeting the highest standards of quality, excellence, innovation, and healthy workplaces. This year we are delighted to be recognizing another 22 outstanding organizations with a Canada Awards for Excellence. We are also honoured to be presenting Special Recognition of Achievement Awards to three distinguished Canadians: Margaret Trudeau for her advocacy work in mental health; Richard McLaren, OC, for his pivotal work on anti-doping and ethics in sport; and Christine Day for her business and entrepreneurial successes."

The awards will be presented at the 2016 Performance Excellence Summit and Canada Awards for Excellence on Tuesday, November 1st at The Carlu in Toronto. For complete event details and registration, please visit


Recipients of the 32nd Canada Awards for Excellence, 2016


This is the highest level of recognition presented by Excellence Canada.

The following organizations have successfully maintained a focus on excellence over the long term and have previously received the Canada Awards for Excellence Gold Trophy.

Order of Excellence: Quality

  • Information Technology Services (ITS), Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) - Toronto, Ontario

Order of Excellence: Excellence, Innovation and Wellness

  • Ceridian Canada - Markham, Ontario


The Champion of Excellence for the Excellence, Innovation and Wellness® category is Sun Life Financial. This award is based on Excellence Canada's Excellence, Innovation and Wellness® Standard and was developed by Excellence Canada in association with Excellence Canada partners and professionals from across Canada.

Gold Award Recipients

  • British Columbia Pension Corporation - Victoria, British Columbia
  • Calian - Ottawa, Ontario
  • Canadian Forces Housing Agency, Department of National Defence - Ottawa, Ontario
  • Property Valuation Services Corporation - Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
  • Real Estate Board of Greater Vancouver - Vancouver, British Columbia
  • The Canadian Real Estate Association - Ottawa, Ontario

Silver Award Recipients

  • The Office of the President, University of Waterloo - Waterloo, Ontario


The Champion of Excellence for the Mental Health at Work® category is Manulife. This award is based on Excellence Canada's -- Mental Health at Work® framework. The Mental Health at Work® framework was developed by Excellence Canada in association with mental health and work safety professionals from across Canada, and the requirements incorporate principles and practices as outlined in the National Standard of Canada for Psychological Health and Safety in the Workplace.

Silver Award Recipient

  • Manulife - Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario


This award is based on Excellence Canada's Canadian Healthy Workplace® Standard developed in partnership with Health Canada and in association with professionals from the health and wellness sectors.

Gold Award Recipient

  • Lassonde Industries Inc. and A. Lassonde Inc. - Rougemont, Quebec
  • Soprema - Drummondville, Quebec

Silver Award Recipients

  • Groupe AFFI Logistique - Boucherville, Quebec
  • Manulife - Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario
  • Valacta - Sainte-Anne-de Bellevue, Quebec
  • Workplace Safety North - North Bay, Ontario


This award is based on the Canadian Framework for Excellence which is used as a management model for continuous improvement and the achievement of significant operational results. These awards will be presented by Ricoh Canada Inc.

Gold Award Recipients

  • Acadian Seaplants Limited, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
  • Distech Controls Inc., Brossard, Quebec

Silver Award Recipients

  • Société de transport de Laval, Laval, Quebec

Bronze Award Recipients

  • Conceptromec Inc., Magog, Quebec
  • Lafontaine, Lévis, Quebec
  • Résidence Wales Home, Cleveland, Québec

Certificate of Merit Recipient - Project Category

  • Architecture, Information Management and Project Management Office Branch, Central Agencies I&IT Cluster, Treasury Board Secretariat, Province of Ontario


From time-to-time, the Excellence Canada Board of Governors recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to Canadian society and/or the global human condition. Past Award recipients have included Dr. David Suzuki, former Prime Minister The Right Honourable Brian Mulroney, Lt.-General The Honourable Roméo A. Dallaire, The Honourable Flora MacDonald, Sir Richard Branson, Mr. Rick Hansen and Chris Hadfield. This year, in keeping with the Summit theme "Excellence is Golden," the Board of Governors is presenting the Special Recognition of Achievement Award to:

  • Margaret Trudeau, Celebrated Canadian Mental Health Advocate, in recognition of her advocacy for mental health and environmental issues
  • Richard McLaren, CEO of McLaren Global Sport Solutions, in recognition of his work against doping and corruption in sport
  • Christine Day, CEO Luvo, in recognition of her outstanding accomplishments as a successful executive and entrepreneur


Excellence Canada gratefully acknowledges the support of the following organizations that have helped make this year's events possible.

Title Sponsor
Lundbeck Canada

Champions of Excellence
Sun Life Financial

Benefactor and Networking Break Sponsor
Ricoh Canada Inc.

Advocate Sponsor
Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life

Networking Break Sponsor

Supporter Sponsors
PowerStream Inc.
Saint Elizabeth
Region of Durham
Workplace Safety & Insurance Board

Industry Sponsor
CEO Global Network

Media Sponsor
Your Workplace Magazine

Image Available:

Contact Information

  • For further information, contact:

    Allan Ebedes
    President and CEO, Excellence Canada
    Tel: 416-251-7600, ext. 230