SOURCE: Executive Alliance

May 06, 2008 08:07 ET

Executives and Project Teams to Be Recognized for Demonstrating Leadership and Innovation in Information Security

Executive Alliance Announces Nominees for Information Security Executive (ISE) Mid-Atlantic Awards 2008

ATLANTA, GA--(Marketwire - May 6, 2008) - Executive Alliance, creator and provider of premium leadership recognition forums and events worldwide, announced today the nominees for the ISE Mid-Atlantic Awards 2008.

The ISE Mid-Atlantic Awards recognize leaders and their teams for outstanding achievement and innovative efforts in the information security industry across the Mid-Atlantic region, including Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and Washington, DC.

The finalists and winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony held on the evening of Thursday, June 12, 2008 at the Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City in Washington, DC.

The ISE Mid-Atlantic Executive of the Year Award Nominees:

--  Ron Baklarz, CISSP, CISA, CISM, IAM, IEM, Director of Information
    Systems Security, MedStar Health
--  Deven Bhatt, CISA, CISM, CISSP-ISSAP, ISSMP, Chief Security Officer,
    Airlines Reporting Corporation
--  Larry Brock, CISM, Chief Information Security Officer, DuPont
--  Michael J. Castagna, CISSP, FEAC, Chief Information Security Officer,
    U.S. Department of Commerce
--  Elvis Cernjul, Senior Director of Technical Services, Spiegel Brands,
--  Jerry L. Davis, CISSP, PMP, Deputy Chief Information Officer for IT
    Security, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
--  Bruce Forman, CISSP, CISA, CISM, Director, Information Security,
    Genesis Healthcare Corporation
--  Brenda B. Gombosky, CISSP, CISM, CHSP, Director, Information
    Technology, Enterprise Security, University of Louisville
--  Phil Heneghan, CPA, CISM, Chief Information Security Officer, Chief
    Privacy Officer & Interim Chief Information Officer, U.S. Agency for
    International Development
--  Mischel Kwon, Chief IT Security Technologist, U.S. Department of
--  Robert F. Lentz, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Information
    and Identity Assurance,  U.S. Department of Defense
--  Adair Martinez, CISSP, PMP, Deputy Assistant Secretary (DAS) for
    Information Protection and Risk Management (IPRM), U.S. Department of
    Veterans Affairs
--  Dr. Douglas Maughan, Program Lead, Cyber Security, Command, Control &
    Interoperability Division, S&T Directorate, U.S. Department of Homeland
--  David C. Smith, CISSP, CISM, CCE, Chief Security Officer, University
    Information Security Officer, Georgetown University
--  Chris Tignor, CISM, Vice President and Chief Information Security
    Officer, Capital One

These companies are nominated for implementing an outstanding information security project completed in the last 12-18 months and are candidates for the ISE Project of the Year Award:

--  Airlines Reporting Corporation
--  Harleysville Group, Inc.
--  Northrop Grumman Corporation
--  Spiegel Brands, Inc.
--  Temple University
--  The Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military
    Medicine, Inc.
--  University of Pennsylvania / Information Systems & Computing
--  U.S. Department of Defense
--  U.S. Small Business Administration

In addition to the awards, the nominees and executives participate in the ISE Executive Forum comprised of cutting-edge speakers, panelists and presentations focused on business issues, best practices, and solutions.

"We have a terrific list of exemplary leaders as nominees for the ISE Mid-Atlantic Awards in both the information security executive and project award categories," said Marci McCarthy, CEO of Executive Alliance. "We couldn't think of a better testament to the significance of the ISE Program Award Series, in its sixth year, as it continues to bring visibility to the information security and risk management industry and to the men and women who lead it."

Registration for the ISE Executive Forum, Gourmet Dinner, and Awards Gala is currently available at

Limited sponsorship opportunities are available. Contact Executive Alliance at or 1-404-982-8562.

About the Sponsors

The Executive Alliance Forum and Awards 2008 is the property of Executive Alliance, Inc. and is brought to the business community by the following: Megabyte Sponsor -- Symantec; Kilobyte Sponsors -- ArcSight, ChosenSecurity, Courion, nCircle, Ounce Labs, Passlogix, Qualys, Reconnex, Stonesoft, and Verdasys; Media Sponsors -- InformationWeek Magazine and Infosecurity Magazine US Edition.

About Executive Alliance

Executive Alliance is recognized worldwide as the premier organization for creating leadership recognition forums that honor and celebrate outstanding achievements of executives in different industries. These forums facilitate deep relationships and provide visibility for executives and their companies, offering access and insight to key industry leaders.

Recognized by Morgan Keegan as the largest most widely recognized awards program for IT security executives, the Executive Alliance ISE Award Program Series includes these regions and cities, Southeast/Atlanta; Central/Dallas; Mid-Atlantic/Washington, DC; United Kingdom/London, England; West/San Francisco; Northeast/New York City; and National/Washington, DC. Included in the Executive Alliance series is the Data Center Executive of the Year Awards (DaCEY). Visit or

Contact Information

  • Media Contact:
    Bridget Greiner
    Executive Alliance, Inc.
    Email Contact