Farm Credit Canada

Farm Credit Canada

November 22, 2010 11:23 ET

Farm Credit Canada looks to celebrate exceptional women in agriculture

REGINA, SASKATCHEWAN--(Marketwire - Nov. 22, 2010) - Nominations for the 2011 FCC Rosemary Davis Award officially open today, as Farm Credit Canada (FCC) seeks to recognize and honour women from coast to coast for their leadership and commitment to agriculture.

Women involved in agriculture positively impact the industry and their communities. FCC is looking for five women who deserve recognition for their achievements. Past nominees have ranged from producers and educators to agrologists and veterinarians, to name a few.

Since 2006, FCC has honoured 20 outstanding women with the Rosemary Davis Award. Individuals are encouraged to take the time to recognize a woman they see making a difference in the agriculture industry. Self-nominations are also encouraged.

"The agriculture and agri-food industry in Canada has benefited from the valuable contributions of women", says Kellie Garrett, Senior Vice-President, Strategy, Knowledge and Reputation at FCC. "This award allows FCC to honour remarkable women who make a difference to their communities and to the industry at large."

Candidates are selected based on their demonstration of leadership – through giving back to their community and the agriculture industry – as well as their vision and passion for the industry.

Created and named after a successful Canadian agribusiness owner and operator – and the first female chair of the FCC Board of Directors – the FCC Rosemary Davis Award is testament to the growing number of women who are choosing to make a career in agriculture. 

Winners will be announced in spring 2011 and will have the opportunity to attend the Simmons School of Management Leadership Conference in Boston on April 26, 2011. For more information about the conference, visit

Last year's winners also included:

  • Margaret Rempel - hog and crops producer, volunteer, industry and community leader - Ste. Anne, Manitoba
  • Bette Jean Crews, crops and horticulture producer, industry leader, teacher and volunteer – Trenton, Ontario
  • Marie Gosselin - greenhouse operator, business woman, professional agrologist, visionary - Portneuf, Quebec
  • Gay Hahn, dairy producer, industry leader, educator and volunteer – Burnaby, B.C
  • Jeannie van Dyk - dairy and crops producer, volunteer, mentor and teacher - Noel Shore, Nova Scotia

FCC Rosemary Davis winners must be 21 years of age and actively involved in Canadian agriculture. Entries will only be received online at The deadline to apply is midnight on January 17, 2011. Nominees who applied but did not win in previous years are encouraged to reapply. For more information, call 1-888-332-3301 or email

About Farm Credit Canada:

As Canada's leading agriculture lender, FCC is advancing the business of agriculture. With a healthy portfolio of more than $19.7 billion and 17 consecutive years of portfolio growth, FCC is strong and stable – committed to serving the industry through all cycles. FCC provides financing, insurance, software, learning programs and other business services to producers, agribusinesses and agri-food operations. FCC employees are passionate about agriculture and committed to the success of customers and the industry. For more information, visit

Contact Information