Infrastructure Canada

Infrastructure Canada
Government of Saskatchewan

Government of Saskatchewan

June 25, 2014 11:00 ET

Federal Funding Now Available for Saskatchewan Communities

Canada's Gas Tax Fund supports local infrastructure priorities throughout Saskatchewan

REGINA, SASKATCHEWAN--(Marketwired - June 25, 2014) - The Honourable Gerry Ritz, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, and the Honourable Jim Reiter, Minister of Government Relations for Saskatchewan, celebrated today an agreement for the renewed federal Gas Tax Fund that provides predictable, stable funding for public infrastructure across Saskatchewan.

The federal Gas Tax Fund provides municipalities with the flexibility to choose and plan infrastructure projects based on their specific priorities. The renewed agreements will govern the flow of federal funds to each province and territory over the next 10 years, from 2014-15 until 2023-24.

Since 2006, significant improvements have been made to the Gas Tax Fund; it has been extended, doubled, indexed and made permanent. By enshrining these commitments in legislation, provinces, territories and municipalities are assured of an ongoing funding stream to address their municipal infrastructure needs and priorities.

Under the renewed Gas Tax Fund, eligible categories have also been expanded, providing municipalities with more flexibility than ever before to support local infrastructure.

With this agreement the Government of Canada is ensuring a seamless transition to the New Building Canada Plan, the largest long-term federal commitment to investing in Canada's public infrastructure in our nation's history.

Quick Facts

  • Canada's Gas Tax Fund transfer has provided $13 billion to Canadian communities to date. Over the 10-year life of the New Building Canada Plan from 2014 to 2024, the Gas Tax Fund will provide close to $22 billion in funding for municipalities.
  • In total, the New Building Canada Plan will provide $53 billion in funding to communities across the country over the next decade. For Saskatchewan, this represents more than $1 billion in dedicated federal funding, including almost $437 million under the New Building Canada Fund and an estimated $613 million under the federal Gas Tax Fund*. Saskatchewan also stands to benefit from the Government of Canada's following national funding programs:
    • $4 billion available across the country for projects of national significance,
    • $1.25 billion in additional funding available for public-private partnership (P3) projects,
    • $10.4 billion via the GST Rebate, which provides municipalities across the country with additional resources to address their infrastructure priorities.
  • Since the beginning of the program, over 1950 projects have benefitted from funding under the Gas Tax Fund in Saskatchewan.
  • For example, during the 2012 and 2013 construction seasons, the federal Gas Tax Fund supported projects such as:
    • a water pipe replacement in the City of Melfort;
    • the construction of a bridge in the Rural Municipality of Wolseley;
    • the upgrade of drainage channel in the Town of Langenburg; and
    • the replacement of a water valve in the Town of Foam Lake.
  • Eligible investment categories under this Fund include: drinking water; wastewater and solid waste; public transit; community energy systems; local roads and bridges; capacity building; disaster mitigation; broadband connectivity; highways; short-line rail; short-sea shipping; brownfield redevelopment; regional and local airports; and projects supporting culture, tourism, sport and recreation.


"Our Government's unprecedented support for public infrastructure is ensuring communities across the country enjoy a high standard of living, new economic opportunities, and a safe, healthy environment. The federal Gas Tax Fund will allow Saskatchewan communities to address their specific infrastructure priorities, growing jobs here in the province and the overall Canadian economy."

The Honourable Gerry Ritz

Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food on behalf of the Honourable Denis Lebel, Minister of Infrastructure, Communities, and Intergovernmental Affairs and Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec

"We are pleased that the federal government is renewing the Gas Tax Fund agreement with our municipalities. The Gas Tax supports local governments to help meet the challenges of growth in Saskatchewan. The province will administer the expanded program with several new infrastructure categories including local and regional airports, disaster mitigation and broadband connectivity."

The Honourable Jim Reiter

Saskatchewan Minister of Government Relations

"We are very pleased with the indexed payments and permanency of the Gas Tax Fund. The changes to the eligible categories will afford municipalities the flexibility to use the funds for infrastructure projects that they deem a local priority"

David Marit

President of the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM)

"Towns, cities, villages, and resort villages all over Saskatchewan will see the benefits of this excellent program. The federal Gas Tax Fund is predictable, incremental, and comes to us with few conditions. This funding supports urban municipalities, and SUMA commends the federal government for this initiative."

Debra Button

President of the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association (SUMA)

Associated Links

Learn more about the federal Gas Tax Fund:

Find the new Canada-Saskatchewan federal Gas Tax Fund agreement:

Follow us on Twitter at @INFC_eng

*NOTE: GTF funding by jurisdiction for the first five years (2014-2019) is based on 2011 Census data. GTF funding for 2019-2024 will be based on 2016 Census data. For illustrative purposes, Census 2011 data has been used for all 10 years. Due to the indexation of the GTF, funding for 2019-2024 is expected to be at least equal to GTF funding for the first five years.

Contact Information

  • Vincent Rabault, Press Secretary
    Office of the Minister of Infrastructure,
    Communities and Intergovernmental Affairs,
    and Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada
    for the Regions of Quebec

    Sarah Still
    Communications Consultant
    Saskatchewan Ministry of Government Relations

    Infrastructure Canada
    Toll free: 1-877-250-7154