Royal Canadian Golf Association

Royal Canadian Golf Association

July 08, 2005 19:20 ET


Maritimer Lorie Kane leads record Canadian contingient into Glen Arbour Attention: Sports Editor, Travel/Tourism Editor HALIFAX--(CCNMatthews - July 8, 2005) - Maritimer Lorie Kane will have the hopes of Atlantic Canada behind her as she gets set to lead 150 of the LPGA Tour's finest into the 2005 BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Open, July 11-17 at Glen Arbour Golf Course in Halifax, N.S.

The Charlottetown, P.E.I. native will be joined by fellow Canadian LPGA Tour players A.J. Eathorne of Calgary, Angela Buzminski of Oshawa, Ont., Isabelle Beisiegel of Montreal, Nancy Harvey of Swift Current, Sask. and Canadian Golf Hall of Famer Dawn Coe-Jones of Campbell River, B.C. In all, a record 21 Canadian players will be in the field at Glen Arbour looking to become the first Canuck to take home the title since Canadian golf legend Jocelyne Bourassa's historic victory in 1973 at La Canadienne Golf Championship.

The full field list, released today by the Royal Canadian Golf Association (RCGA), includes many of the LPGA's rising stars - names like Jennifer Rosales, Christina Kim and 2005 US Women's Open runner-up Brittany Lang - as well as defending champion Meg Mallon, who will be looking for her fourth career Canadian title.

The full field list for the 2005 BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Open is as follows:

*Kim Adams (CAN)
Kristi Albers
Beth Allen
Katie Allison
*Vicki Appleton (CAN)
Danielle Ammaccapane
Dina Ammaccapane
Beth Bader
Tina Barrett
Jean Bartholomew
Emily Bastel
Beth Bauer
Patricia Baxter-Johnson
Isabelle Beisiegel (CAN)
Luciana Bemvenuti
*Ashley Bickerton (a) (CAN)
Erica Blasberg
*Kim Brozer (CAN)
Nanci Bowen
Heather Bowie
Audra Burks
Brandie Burton
Angela Buzminski (CAN)
Kelly Cap
Catherine Cartwright
*Leila Chartrand (CAN)
Jordan Cherebetiu
Clarissa Childs
Kathy Choi-Rogers
Il Mi Chung
Dawn Coe-Jones (CAN)
Diana D'Alessio
Eva Dahllof
Jenna Daniels
Dorothy Delasin
Annette DeLuca
Laura Diaz
Michelle Dobek
*Jan Dowling (CAN)
*Veronique Drouin (a) (CAN)
Moira Dunn
A.J. Eathorne (CAN)
Joellyn Erdmann-Crooks
Michelle Estill
Allison Finney
Tina Fischer
Stephanie George
Janice Gibson
Susan Ginter-Brooker
Kate Golden
Jennifer Greggain (CAN)
Natalie Gulbis
Carmen Hajjar
Allison Hanna
Jen Hanna
Tracy Hanson
Marcy Hart
Nancy Harvey (CAN)
Johanna Head
Riko Higashio
*Tiarra Honce (CAN)
Janell Howland
Katherine Hull
Jamie Hullett
Amy Hung
Diane Irvin
Linda Ishii
Becky Iverson
Nicole Jeray
Angela Jerman
Young Jo
Chris Johnson
Malinda Johnson
Cathy Johnston-Forbes
Lorie Kane (CAN)
*Corina Kelepouris (CAN)
Pamela Kerrigan
Denise Killeen
Christina Kim
Hana Kim
Emilee Klein
Kelli Kuehne
*Brittany Lang
Meena Lee
Sarah Lee
Siew-Ai Lim
Yu Ping Lin
Brittany Lincicome
Leta Lindley
Stephanie Louden
Marilyn Lovander
Mardi Lunn
Meg Mallon
Kathryn Marshall
Paula Marti
*Laura Matthews (a) (CAN)
Mhairi McKay
Janice Moodie
Becky Morgan
Joanne Morley
Miriam Nagl
Lorena Ochoa
Anne Marie Palli
*Eom-Ji Park (a) (CAN)
*Jane Park (a)
Mikaela Parmlid
Susie Parry
Julie Piers
*Kareen Qually (CAN)
Reilley Rankin
Michele Redman
*Cortney Reno
Jessica Reese
Angie Rizzo
Jennifer Rosales
Kim Saiki
Kristen Samp
Nancy Scranton
Giulia Sergas
Alena Sharp (CAN)
*Linda Shephard (CAN)
Michelle Simpson
Pearl Sinn-Bonanni
Stacy Snider
Sae-Hee Son
Aree Song
Naree Song
Charlotta Sorenstam
Leslie Spalding
Angela Stanford
Suzanne Strudwick
Kris Tamulis
Nadina Taylor
Celeste Troche
Kris Tschetter
Natalie Tucker
Brooke Tull
Sherri Turner
Lee Ann Walker-Cooper
Shani Waugh
Karen Weiss
Donna Wilkins
Maggie Will
Kim Williams
Caryn Wilson
Carri Wood
Lindsey Wright
Young-A Yang
Minny Yeo
Sung Ah Yim
*sponsor exemption
(CAN) denotes Canadian
(a) denotes amateur

(Field courtesy of

Field Fast Facts
Four spots in the 2005 BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Open are still up for grabs with the Monday Open qualifier scheduled for 1:00 pm Monday at Glen Arbour Golf Course.

2005 will see a record 21 Canadians competing for the Canadian Women's Open, including 10 who qualified through the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour.

Three previous Canadian Women's Open champions are in the field including defending champion Meg Mallon, Nancy Scranton and Cathy Johnston-Forbes.

Though just 20 years old, Vancouver amateur Eom-Ji Park is already an Open veteran, competing in 2005 for the fourth consecutive year. Park's best finish was in 2003 where she finished as the number-two Canadian, tied for 43rd overall.

This year's event will see five amateur players challenge the field including RCGA National Women's Amateur Team members Eom Ji Park of Vancouver, Ashley Bickerton of Ottawa, Veronique Drouin of Ste-Agnès, Que. and Laura Matthews of Essex, Ont., as well as 2004 US Women's Amateur champion Jane Park.

Championship action for all four rounds will be broadcast nationally in English on TSN and in French on RDS. The television broadcast start times are as follows:

Thursday, July 14
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm (1st Rd) TSN/RDS
Midnight - 1:30 am (Encore) TSN/RDS

Friday, July 15
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm (2nd Rd) TSN/RDS

Saturday, July 16
12:30 am - 2:00 am (Encore) TSN/RDS
3:30 pm - 6:00 pm (3rd Rd) TSN/RDS

Sunday, July 17
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm (4th Rd) RDS
9:00 pm - 11:30 pm (4th Rd) TSN
3:00 am - 5:30 am (Encore) TSN

(All times in EST)

Tickets during the week can be purchased on-site at Glen Arbour Golf Course and range from $10 - $45 a day, or $125 for a weekly pass. One junior age 15 and under will be admitted to the grounds free when accompanied by a ticketed adult. For more information please call 1-866-571-LPGA.

Conducted by the Royal Canadian Golf Association, the 2005 BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Open is Canada's only LPGA Tour event, promising a full week of world-class golf and family fun July 11-17 at the picturesque Glen Arbour Golf Course. Highlights include a downtown kick-off festival at the Grand Parade, a Women's Only Pro-Am and open qualifier on the Monday, Family Day with junior clinics and a celebrity skins challenge with NHL stars Brad Richards, Jody Shelly and Rick Vaive on Tuesday, Championship Pro-Am on Wednesday with special guest Anne Murray and four championship rounds running Thursday through Sunday.

About BMO's Involvement with Golf
In addition to being the proud title sponsor of the Canadian Women's Tour and the Canadian Women's Open, the only Canadian stop on the LPGA Tour, BMO Financial Group is also the title sponsor of Future Links, a national development program for junior golfers. The program is designed to make the game more accessible for young golfers aged 5 to 18. For more information please visit

About the Royal Canadian Golf Association
The Royal Canadian Golf Association is the governing body of golf in Canada, representing close to 400,000 members nationwide. In addition to providing core services such as the Rules of Golf, handicapping, support of turfgrass and environmental research, and BMO Financial Group Future Links, Canada's national junior golf program, the RCGA also conducts Canada's most prestigious golf championships. The Bell Canadian Open and BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Open attract the best professional golfers in the world, while six regional junior championships, 10 national amateur championships and the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour showcase the best of Canadian golf. For more information please visit

For more information contact:

Anthony Alfred
Director, Communications
Royal Canadian Golf Association
905-849-9700 ext. 227
416-819-0286 (cell)

Dan Pino
Senior Communications Coordinator
Royal Canadian Golf Association
905-849-9700 ext. 406
416-434-5525 (cell)

Contact Information

  • Dan Pino, Senior Communications Coordinator, Royal Canadian Golf Association
    Primary Phone: 905-849-9700 ext. 406
    Secondary Phone: 416-434-5525
    Toll-Free: 800-263-0009