November 08, 2005 19:29 ET

"Firewater" to Be Last Call for Tha Alkaholiks

New and Final Album Streets in Early 2006

LOS ANGELES, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- November 8, 2005 -- Waxploitation Records and KOCH Records announce the release of "Firewater," the fifth and final album by Tha Alkaholiks. "Firewater" is slated for a February release and will precede an Alkaholiks 'farewell tour' -- a final party for their fans. The group will retire after the release of "Firewater" and the final tour.

"Knowing 'Firewater' was going to be our last album made us very, very focused," says E-Swift. "We knew there was never going to be a second chance and we owed it to our fans to put everything we could into it, right here, right now."

"We all have different goals and things we want to do as individuals. It's important for us to move forward and find new challenges," says J-Ro.

"We were party animals for over a decade. Times are changing," says Tash. "We'll still get together once in a while to do a song here and a song there...but this is going to be it as far as albums go."

Over the last decade, few artists have been able to crossover with both commercial and underground audiences as seamlessly as Tha Liks have done. Consistent fixtures year after year in the fickle hip hop world, Tha Alkaholiks (Tash, E-Swift and J-Ro) are considered by many to be as influential as any artist in hip hop. Classic Alkaholiks singles like "Make Room," "Daaaaaam!" and "Likwit" are still radio and mixtape staples.

"In some ways, the release of 'Firewater' is bittersweet," says Waxploitation Records founder Jeff Antebi. "It feels like the end of an era, but Tha Alkaholiks are exiting with an incredible legacy to follow them. It's not often an artist can pick their own exit, at the peak of their game."

Tha Alkaholiks have released four critically acclaimed CDs: "X.O. Experience," "21 & Over," "Coast II Coast," and "Likwidation," which have featured a 'who's who' of hip hop's elite including Nas, Busta Rhymes, Madlib, Xzibit, Q-Tip, Kurupt, The Neptunes and Ol' Dirty Bastard, to name just a few.

Three early samples from the new album are available online. The song "Get Into It" can be heard at and the Danger Mouse-produced "Chaos" can be heard at The single "The Flute Song (LaLaLa)" can be heard at

Track Listing:

1. The Flute Song (LaLaLa)   9.  Poverty's Paradise
2. Turn It Up               10.  Get Into It
3. Chaos                    11.  Party Ya Ass Off
4. Faded                    12.  Handle It
5. Drink Wit Us             13.  Over Here
6. On Tha Floor             14.  Do It
7. The Get Down             15.  Popular Demand
8. Hangover

About KOCH Records

KOCH Records is a division of KOCH Entertainment, the fastest-growing music company and the market leader among independents in North America. The KOCH Entertainment corporate umbrella encompasses the KOCH Records label, KOCH Vision home video, KOCH Music Publishing and KOCH Entertainment Distribution with operations in both the U.S. and Canada. KOCH Records proudly claims the largest number of Billboard charting albums among independents for each of the last four years (2001-2004). For additional info on the KOCH Records label and its roster of artists, please visit

About Waxploitation

Waxploitation is a Record Label and Management Company -- the home to an array of distinctive artists including Danger Mouse, Tha Alkaholiks, DANGERDOOM, Gnarls Barkley, Tweaker, KutMasta Kurt and Teargas & Plateglass. Founded in 1996, Waxploitation has long been a place for great music, with past artists such as Jimmy Tamborello (the Postal Service), Paul Leary (Butthole Surfers), Chris Vrenna (Nine Inch Nails), Al Jourgensen (Ministry), Josh Wink, King Britt and Dust Brothers founder Matt Dike, to name a few.

Contact Information