December 14, 2011 14:12 ET

First group of performers announced for the 2012 JUNO AWARDS broadcast on Sunday, April 1, on CTV

Blue Rodeo, City and Colour, deadmau5 and Feist revealed as performers

Special one-day-only holiday ticket pre-sale Friday, Dec. 16, at 10 a.m.

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Dec. 14, 2011) - CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) announced today the first round of artists confirmed to perform on CTV's broadcast of the 2012 JUNO AWARDS on Sunday, April 1, from Scotiabank Place in Ottawa.

Announced to take the stage in 2012 is an eclectic group of musicians who showcase the manifold of talent present in the Canadian music industry. This announcement comes in advance of the special one-day-only holiday JUNO ticket pre-sale Friday, Dec. 16, at 10 a.m., available through www.capitaltickets.ca, by phone at 613-599-FANS (3267) or 1-877-788-FANS (3267).

The first group of performers announced to take the stage at the 2012 JUNO AWARDS include:

Blue Rodeo, 2012 Canadian Music Hall of Fame recipients
City and Colour, JUNO award-winning singer-songwriter
deadmau5, award-winning producer and electronic artist
Feist, award-winning recording artist

"Coming off of the most-watched JUNO Awards broadcast on record, we are excited to continue to bring the nation the biggest and most spectacular night of Canadian music all year," said Phil King, President CTV Programming and Sports. "The already diverse line-up announced today is just the beginning of what we have in store for this year's broadcast."

"To be able to offer Canadian music fans the best of many musical genres all on one stage demonstrates the diversity of the JUNO Awards and how far we've come in recognizing 41 categories," said Melanie Berry, President & CEO, CARAS/The JUNO Awards. "This first group of performers are among the most exciting and coveted artists in the world, and it only makes sense that they be a part of Canada's greatest night in music."

Since CTV joined forces with CARAS in 2002, the JUNO AWARDS have travelled across Canada, bringing a live, electrified stadium show to millions of Canadians. CTV has broadcast the JUNO AWARDS from St. John's (2002), Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg (2005), Halifax (2006), Saskatoon (2007), Calgary (2008), Vancouver (2009), back to St. John's (2010), Toronto (2011) and now back to Ottawa (2012). The 2013 JUNO Awards are confirmed for Regina, Sask.

Additional performer announcements will be released in the coming months.

The 2012 JUNO AWARDS is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS). Executive Producers are John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby for Insight Productions, and Melanie Berry and Ed Robinson for CARAS. Lindsay Cox is Supervising Producer. Phil King is President, CTV Programming and Sports.

Broadcast sponsors of the 2012 JUNO AWARDS are Garnier and Rogers.

Sponsors of the 2012 JUNO Awards include FACTOR, Canada's Private Radio Broadcasters and The Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage's "Canada Music Fund," Radio Starmaker Fund, National Capital Commission (NCC), Province of Ontario and the City of Ottawa.

Photos of the 2012 JUNO AWARDS performers are available at http://www.ctvmedia.ca/ctv and www.junoawards.ca.

Web Links:

Official JUNO Awards website: www.junoawards.ca
CTV's JUNO Awards website: www.junos.ctv.ca
CARAS website: www.carasonline.ca
CTV website: www.ctv.ca



Contact Information