SOURCE: Northern California Football League

Northern California Football League

May 20, 2010 18:49 ET

First Time in Bay Area History: Men's and Women's Professional Football Doubleheader

NCFL and IWFL Games Will Be Played Back-to-Back in Fremont on May 22

BURLINGAME, CA--(Marketwire - May 20, 2010) -  The Northern California Football League (NCFL) announced today that on May 22 the California Rhinos (1-6) will play the NorCal Lawmen (2-5) at 6:00 PM. Prior to the game, the Bay Area Bandits and the Modesto Maniax of the Independent Women's Football League (IWFL) will play at 1:00 PM. Both games will be played at Tak Fudenna Stadium in Fremont.

The Bay Area Bandits and Modesto Maniax are part of the only professional women's tackle football league in the world. The Bandits are first in their division this year with a 5-1 record. While the Modesto Maniax (1-4) are on the hunt for their first road win.

"This is the first time in Bay Area history that men's and women's Minor League Football teams have played back-to-back and we are proud to be part of it," said NCFL Commissioner Gus Lopez. "This is an unusual opportunity for fans to see both men's and women's game and enjoy an afternoon with their families."

For more information on the NCFL, visit For more information about the IWFL, visit or Tickets for both games can be purchased at the Tak Fudenna Stadium Box Office.

The Northern California Football League (NCFL)
The NCFL was founded in 1996 as Golden Coast Football League with four independent teams. It has grown steadily since and in 2008, was renamed the Northern California Football League. The 2010 season includes 15 teams in two divisions for a 12-week season beginning in March. The NCFL is a collection of individuals from all walks of life and backgrounds who have come together under the commonality of sports entertainment in the form of football.

Independent Women's Football League (IWFL)
Founded in 2000, the IWFL is an international women's tackle football organization. The IWFL provides teams the opportunity to play at the top competition tier, while fostering an environment of goodwill and sportsmanship. The IWFL is the only recognized professional women's tackle football league.

Contact Information