SOURCE: Florida Wildlife Federation

Florida Wildlife Federation

June 21, 2016 08:00 ET

Florida Wildlife Federation Presenting Annual Awards to Outstanding Conservationists in Bradenton on June 25, 2016

TALLAHASSEE, FL--(Marketwired - June 21, 2016) - At the Florida Wildlife Federation's 79th Annual Conservation Awards Banquet to be held June 25, 2016, at the Courtyard Marriott Riverfront Hotel in Bradenton, ten outstanding Florida conservationists will be recognized for their conservation achievements.

The Federation's annual selection of conservation award winners is one of the oldest in the state. Award winners are chosen from nominations made to the Federation's board of directors based on their accomplishments on behalf of Florida's fish, wildlife and native habitats.

The Florida Wildlife Federation, a statewide non-profit organization founded in 1936, is dedicated to protecting Florida's fish and wildlife resources. The organization also promotes public appreciation of the environment through sustainable outdoor recreation. The Federation is the Florida affiliate of National Wildlife Federation.

The following individuals and groups will receive wildlife statuettes to commemorate the occasion:

Conservationist of the Year: Carissa Kent, Oviedo;

Wildlife Conservationist of the Year: Tim Breault, Tallahassee;

Land Conservationist of the Year: Alto "Bud" Adams, Fort Pierce;

Conservation Communicator of the Year: Paula Dockery, Lakeland;

Youth Conservationist of the Year: Kaitlin Greenough, Zephyrhills;

Conservation Organization of the Year: Charlotte Harbor National Estuary Program, Punta Gorda;

Fish & Wildlife Law Enforcement Officer of the Year: Lt. Mike Andriano, FWC, Fort Myers;

Francis S. Taylor Outdoorsman of the Year: Captain Esteban Gutierrez, Fort Myers;

President's Award: David A. Theriaque, Esq., Tallahassee;

FWF Conservation Hall of Fame: U. S. Senator Bill Nelson.

Please contact Diane Hines at or Danny Gwynn-Shapiro at for photographs of the award winners receiving the awards after the June 25th awards ceremony.

Contact Information