Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation

Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation

November 13, 2007 09:00 ET

Focused on bone and joint health and injury prevention

New chair, new members for board of directors, Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation

Attention: Business/Financial Editor, Health/Medical Editor TORONTO/ONTARIO/MEDIA RELEASE--(Marketwire - Nov. 13, 2007) - At its annual meeting, the Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation, Canada's only health charity dedicated solely to helping people maintain and restore their bone and joint health, ratified several changes to its voluntary board of directors.

"Building on the progress of the previous board, the new board will play a catalytic role for bone and joint health," says Angelique Berg, executive director. "Our board has outstanding diversity and skill and our directors are passionate about improving bone and joint health in Canada."

Dr. Wright who has served on the board since 1994 announced his retirement. He was given an Award of Distinction for his contributions.

Succeeding Dr. Wright as chair is Dr. Kevin Orrell. Dr. Orrell, an orthopaedic surgeon in Sydney, Nova Scotia has been on the board since 1998. "I look forward to working with the board in the capacity of Chair," says Dr. Orrell. "Dr. Wright's leadership has been instrumental in moving the Foundation forward. We are now able to leverage common sense bone and joint health and injury prevention strategies to ensure sustainable orthopaedic care for all Canadians. I'm excited about the opportunity to build new relationships with groups interested in the health of Canadians and in working with government on the national and provincial levels."

Other executive appointments include Mr. Michael Cloutier returning for a second term as Vice-Chair, Mr. Chris Nelson as Treasurer, and Ms Sandra Vlaar Ingram completes the executive committee.

Dr. Frank Sim, who completed his term of office, and Dr. Wright were appointed honorary members of the board. Honorary membership is bestowed upon distinguished individuals; members contribute to the Foundation in an advisory capacity and to augment fundraising and partnership efforts.

Two new members were elected to the board to fill the vacancies.

Dr. Erin Boynton, consultant to Seiden Health Management and Workable Centers. Dr. Boynton is an orthopaedic surgeon based in Toronto. She was previously on staff at Mount Sinai Hospital and served as chief orthopaedic surgeon for the Toronto Blue Jays, Toronto Maple Leafs, and orthopaedic consultant to the Toronto Argos. Dr. Boynton served for five years on the executive of the Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society.

Dr. James Waddell, director, Holland Orthopaedic & Arthritic Centre in Toronto and an orthopaedic surgeon and professor. He has occupied a number of positions at St. Michael's Hospital including surgeon-in-chief and medical director of the trauma program. Dr. Waddell is the Coordinator of the National Action Network of the Bone and Joint Decade in Canada.

Along with the two new members and executive committee, the 2007-2008 board includes: Mr. Tom Fullan, Mr. Urban Joseph, O.C., Mr. Patrick Lafferty, Mr. Denis Morrice, and Ms. Marilyn Wright.

Founded in 1965, the Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation is Canada's only charity dedicated solely to helping people maintain and restore their mobility. Through its professional staff and network of over 500 volunteers, the Foundation raises funds to achieve excellence in bone and joint or orthopaedic health, mobility and function for all Canadians. By initiating and encouraging improvements to our environment for the benefit of patients, we strive to keep Canadians living and moving independently.


NOTE: En francais version of release available at, under About Us, Media Room. /For further information: Visit the Foundation's Website at

Contact Information

  • Angelique Berg, Executive Director, Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation
    Primary Phone: 416-410-2341 ext. 2
    Secondary Phone: 905-847-5674
    Toll-Free: 800-461-3639