The Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA)

The Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA)

October 07, 2013 13:00 ET

Fort McMurray #468 First Nation, Christina River Dene Nation Council, and the Chipewyan Prairie Dene First Nation Join the Wood Buffalo Environmental Association

FORT MCMURRAY, ALBERTA--(Marketwired - Oct. 7, 2013) - The membership of the Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA) has grown again. Three new members were welcomed to the table at the Association's General Member's meeting in September; the Fort McMurray #468 First Nation, the Christina River Dene Nation Council, and the Chipewyan Prairie Dene First Nation.

WBEA's membership voted unanimously to accept the new members, bringing the Association's membership to 37 member organizations who represent three levels of government, environmental non-government organizations, industry operators and Aboriginal groups.

The Fort McMurray #468 First Nation consists of four areas with approximately 475 Band members in total. Reserve #175 is located about 20 kms east of Fort McMurray, and the other three areas - Reserve #176, #176A and #176B - are located near Anzac on Gregoire Lake, approximately 50 kms southeast of Fort McMurray. Gregoire Lake Reserve #176 is the largest and most populated. Harry Cheecham, representative for the Fort McMurray #468 First Nation, said, "Fort McMurray #468 First Nation appreciates being a member of the WBEA and looks forward working with this dynamic group. Our Nation recognizes the importance of working together in the best interest of our environment, and welcomes the opportunity to participate in achieving the goals of the WBEA."

The Christina River Dene Nation Council represents community members in the Janvier South hamlet. President of Christina River Dene Council, Almer Herman, said, "CRDNC board and members are delighted to be a part of WBEA. CRDNC will participate to our best knowledge to strengthen our concerns and work with all stakeholders in the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo."

WBEA's third new member, the Chipewyan Prairie Dene First Nation, consists of approximately 800 members, and is located 120 kms south east of Fort McMurray adjacent to the community of Janvier.

WBEA Executive Director, Dr. Kevin Percy, is pleased to welcome the three Aboriginal groups. "One of WBEA's goals has been to increase Aboriginal representation at our table. Each of our new members is an important stakeholder and they bring with them the Aboriginal voice and perspective that is so important in our region. One of WBEA's greatest strengths is our consensus-based governance, and multi-stakeholder membership. This will continue be very important as we move forward and contribute to enhanced, science-based monitoring in the region," said Percy.

The Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA) is an independent, community based, not-for-profit organization that monitors the air in the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. This is done through a variety of air, land and human monitoring programs. The air quality information collected is openly shared with stakeholders and the public.

For more information please visit

WBEA is made up of 37 member organizations -
Aboriginal Members Shell Canada Ltd.
Fort McKay First Nation Statoil Canada Ltd.
Fort McKay Métis Suncor Energy Inc.
Métis Local 1935 Sunshine Oilsands Ltd.
Chipewyan Prairie Dene First Nation Syncrude Canada Ltd.
Christina River Dene Council Teck Resources Ltd.
Fort McMurray First Nation 468 Total E&P Canada Ltd.
Williams Energy
Environmental Organization Members
Fort McMurray Environmental Association
Pembina Institute for Appropriate Development
Government Members
Alberta Energy Regulator
Alberta Environment and Sustainable Resource
Alberta Health Services
Alberta Health and Wellness
Environment Canada
Health Canada
Parks Canada
Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo
Saskatchewan Environment
Industry Members
Athabasca Oil Corp.
Brion Energy
Canadian Natural Resources Ltd.
Cenovus Energy Inc.
Conoco Phillips Canada
Devon Canada
Finning Canada Ltd.
Hammerstone Corp.
Husky Energy Inc.
Imperial Oil
MEG Energy
Nexen Inc.

Contact Information