SOURCE: Forum for Corporate Directors

Forum for Corporate Directors

January 19, 2011 01:01 ET

The Forum for Corporate Directors Announces Honorees for the 16th Annual Director of the Year Awards

NEWPORT BEACH, CA--(Marketwire - January 19, 2011) - The Forum for Corporate Directors (FCD) announced today the 2011 Director of the Year Honorees who will be recognized at the 16th Annual Director of the Year Awards and dinner on Thursday, February 17, at the Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. Michael A. Mussallem, chairman and chief executive officer of Edwards Lifesciences Corporation, is the special guest host for the evening.

According to John Della Grotta, chair of FCD and a partner at Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP, FCD has established a tradition of recognizing directors who have helped influence and guide companies and organizations to achieve growth and corporate excellence while maximizing market valuation. During these 16 years, 89 individuals have been honored by the organization. The five individuals and the award categories for which each is being recognized in 2011 are:

  • Douglas K. Ammerman -- Corporate Governance. Mr. Ammerman is an independent director and serves on the boards of directors of EPL Intermediate, Inc. (El Pollo Loco, Inc.), Fidelity National Financial, Inc. and Quiksilver, Inc.

  •  Monica Lozano -- Corporate Growth and Development. Ms. Lozano is the chief executive officer of impreMedia, LLC. She also serves on the boards of directors of Bank of America Corporation and The Walt Disney Company.

  • Thomas E. Pardun -- Corporate Leadership and Service. Mr. Pardun is the chairman of the board of Western Digital Corporation. In addition to the Western Digital board of directors, he serves on the boards of CalAmp Corporation, Finisar Corporation, MaxLinear, Inc. and Occam Networks, Inc.

  • Sheldon Razin -- Enhancement of Economic Value. Mr. Razin is founder and chairman of the board of directors of Quality Systems, Inc.

  • Murray E. Rudin-- Early Stage Companies. Mr. Rudin is managing partner of Riordan, Lewis & Haden. He serves on the boards of directors of CyberCoders, Cymetrix, Inc. and InstallerEDGE.

"The individuals being recognized have been instrumental in helping lead their companies through critical challenges -- some anticipated and others unanticipated -- as they navigate economic uncertainty, new regulatory requirements, increased activism among stakeholders and heightened competition in the global marketplace. We are pleased to recognize each of them as Director of the Year Honorees in 2011," Della Grotta said.

In addition to its Director of the Year Awards, FCD creates opportunities for directors, CEOs and other senior executives to share ideas with their peers as well as with nationally-recognized experts in finance, governance and regulatory oversight in a series of breakfast and dinner meetings. In addition to its Director of the Year Awards, among its signature events are the Governance Outlook which forecasts the emerging governance developments for the coming year and the Directors' Institute, an intensive 2-day program for directors which explores how directors can best represent shareholders and other stakeholders in their advising and oversight roles and provides them with the frameworks and strategies to understand the current governance environment. 

For more information about the 16th Annual Director of the Year Awards, please call 949-375-3323 or to register for this event, please visit the Forum for Corporate Directors website at

About the Forum for Corporate Directors

Founded in 1991, FCD is a non-profit business organization committed to promoting the highest standards of corporate governance and to increasing the effectiveness of directors, CEOs and senior level executives by anticipating important issues facing companies in today's global economy and presenting peer-to-peer forums to share ideas and key strategies. FCD members include many of Southern California's top business and corporate leaders. Corporate members include Abbott Medical Optics; Alacer Corp.; American Vanguard Corporation; California State University Fullerton Mihaylo College of Business & Economics; Conexant Systems, Inc; DDi Corp.; Emulex Corporation; George L. Argyros School of Business & Economics at Chapman University;; MFLEX; Microsemi Corporation; Mindspeed Technologies, Inc.; National Technical Systems; Newport Corporation; Powerwave Technologies; QLogic Corporation; Quality Systems Inc.; RealtyTrac, Inc.; SRS Labs, Inc.; and The Paul Merage School of Business at UC Irvine.

The mission of FCD is generously supported by its Sponsors: Leadership Sponsors: RiechesBaird and Stradling, Yocca, Carlson and Rauth*; Legacy Sponsors: Grant Thornton LLP, KPMG LLP, Microsemi Corporation, and PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; Heritage Sponsors: Deloitte, Ernst & Young LLP*, Latham & Watkins, PaulHastings and Union Bank; Sustaining Sponsors: Abbott Medical Optics Inc., Haskell & White LLP, IR Strategies, McGladrey, and The Paul Merage School of Business at UC Irvine; Supporting Sponsors: Allergan, Inc., BDO USA, LLP, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP, Houlihan Lokey, Lockton Insurance Brokers, LLC, Marketwire, The Orange County Register, and Woodruff-Sawyer & Co.

*Founding Sponsor

Contact Information