SOURCE: The Forward

June 26, 2008 12:58 ET

The Forward Garners Seven Prestigious Rockower Awards for Excellence in Jewish Journalism

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - June 26, 2008) - The Forward, America's most influential Jewish weekly newspaper, received seven Rockower Awards for Excellence in Jewish Journalism at the annual convention of the American Jewish Press Association on Tuesday in Washington, DC.

The Forward received more Rockower Awards, the self-proclaimed "Jewish Pulitzers," than any other Jewish newspaper, in nearly half of the 16 Award categories.

The Forward First Place honors included:

--  Excellence in News Reporting
    "Divorce Bill Leaves Feminists and Ultra-Orthodox in Bed Together"
    Nathaniel Popper
--  Outstanding Website
    Daniel Treiman, Web Editor and Staff
--  Excellence in Arts and Criticism News and Features
    "Jewish Mother, R.I.P"
    Alana Newhouse, Arts & Culture Editor
--  Excellence in Personality Profiles
    "The Last Word"
    Toby Appleton Perl, Contributor

The Forward received second place awards for:

--  Excellence in Editorial Writing
    "Our Ownership Society"
    J.J. Goldberg, Editorial Director
--  Overall Graphic Design
    Kurt Hoffman, Art Director
--  Excellence in Commentary
    "A Plea for Peace from a Bereaved Palestinian Father"
    Bassem Aramin, Contributor

"These marvelous Awards are another indication of the creativity and talent of the Forward staff," said Forward Editor Jane Eisner. "It's an honor to be recognized this way by our media colleagues, especially because the Awards touch upon so many different aspects of the fine journalism that the Forward produces."

The American Jewish Press Association was founded in 1944 as a voluntary not-for-profit professional association for the English-language Jewish Press in North America. Its membership currently consists of about 250 newspapers, magazines, individual journalists and affiliated organizations throughout the United States and Canada. AJPA member publications reach a combined readership of more than 2.5 million. The AJPA mission has remained constant over the years: to enhance the status of American Jewish journalism and to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and cooperative activities among the American Jewish press. The Simon Rockower Awards for Excellence in Jewish Journalism are given out at the AJPA's annual conference at the end of June. Known to some as the 'Jewish Pulitzers,' the awards were initiated in 1980 to promote quality Jewish journalism.

About the Forward:

The Forward, published weekly since 1990, is widely regarded as American Jewry's essential newspaper of record. TheJewishDailyForward.Com ( is the daily updated, online version of America's most influential Jewish weekly. The Forward is committed to rigorous reporting and balanced, thoughtful commentary on news, politics and culture in the Jewish world. The award-winning staff has enhanced the paper's reputation for incisive, hard-hitting reportage with a populist, progressive spirit that was the paper's hallmark since the original Yiddish version began publishing in 1897. Headquartered in New York, the newspaper is owned by the Forward Association, Inc., a 501(c )4 corporation. It is published on Fridays and is available on newsstands nationwide as well as by subscription. For more information visit

NOTE TO EDITORS: "TheJewishDailyForward.Com" refers solely to the daily, updated website (; it is an accurate reference only when the "dot com" is included. The weekly printed newspaper is correctly cited only as the "Forward." When referencing the printed newspaper, please do not cite "The Jewish Daily Forward." That name refers to the historic Yiddish-language print newspaper, which is now published only weekly.

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Andrew Lavin
    A. Lavin Communications