SOURCE: Emergency Nurses Association (ENA)

Emergency Nurses Association (ENA)

June 30, 2015 16:54 ET

Four Emergency Departments Receive Top Performance Recognition From the Emergency Nurses Association

Annual Award Bestowed for Exceptional and Innovative Practice

DES PLAINES, IL--(Marketwired - June 30, 2015) - The Emergency Nurses Association today announced that four U.S. emergency departments were awarded the prestigious Lantern Award™. The award recognizes emergency departments that exemplify exceptional practice and innovative performance in the core areas of leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research.

The Lantern Award is a symbol of an emergency department's commitment to quality, safety, presence of a healthy work environment and accomplishment in incorporating evidence-based practice and innovation into exceptional emergency care.

2015 Lantern Award recipients are:

  • Boston Children's Hospital Emergency Department (Boston)
  • Inova Loudoun Emergency Department (Leesburg, Va.)
  • Pennsylvania Hospital Emergency Department -- Penn Medicine (Philadelphia)
  • Swedish Medical Center -- Emergency Department -- HCA-HealthONE (Englewood, Colo.)

"Congratulations to our 2015 Lantern Award recipients for their commitment to emergency nursing excellence," said ENA president Matthew F. Powers, MS, BSN, RN, MICP, CEN. "The Lantern Award application and review process is rigorous, as we're looking for the highest level of performance in emergency departments. These emergency departments go above and beyond to ensure quality safe practice and care."

All emergency departments are eligible to apply for the Lantern Award, but only a select few meet the highest excellence standards. Emergency departments are required to submit detailed performance metrics, narratives and exemplar responses. A team of reviewers thoroughly evaluate the submissions through a blinded review process.

Recipients will be recognized at ENA's Annual Awards Gala on October 3, 2015 during Emergency Nursing 2015 in Orlando, Fla. The Lantern Award designation is valid for three years and recipients may re-apply after three years.

The Lantern Award is named in honor of Florence Nightingale, who is credited with changing nursing from an untrained job to a skilled, science-based profession. She is referred to as the "Lady of the Lamp" for her actions during the Crimean War when she worked deep into the night, bringing a lantern with her as she tended to wounded British soldiers as they slept.

About the Emergency Nurses Association

The Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) is the premier professional nursing association dedicated to defining the future of emergency nursing through advocacy, education, research, innovation, and leadership. Founded in 1970, ENA has proven to be an indispensable resource to the global emergency nursing community. With more than 40,000 members worldwide, ENA advocates for patient safety, develops industry-leading practice standards and guidelines, and guides emergency healthcare public policy. ENA members have expertise in triage, patient care, disaster preparedness, and all aspects of emergency care. Additional information is available

The following files are available for download:

Contact Information

  • Media Contact:
    Marie Grimaldi
    Communications & PR Manager