The Fraser Institute

The Fraser Institute

November 04, 2009 12:00 ET

The Fraser Institute: Annual Awards Honour Alberta Schools for Ongoing Academic Performance and Improvement

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Nov. 4, 2009) - Educators from outstanding Alberta elementary and high schools will be recognized at the annual Garfield Weston Awards for Excellence in Education on Thursday, November 5 at The Westin Calgary. About 315 educators from across the province will attend the reception and awards dinner.

The annual awards honour teachers, principals, support staff, and volunteers in two categories of academic achievement. Improvement in Academics recognizes elementary and high schools that have experienced the fastest, most consistent improvement in their academic performance over the past five years. Determination in Academic Achievement honours the top-performing elementary and high schools where the average parental income at the school is among the bottom 25 per cent of the province.

The awards are based on an analysis of Alberta Education's student results data for each school included in the Fraser Institute's 2009 editions of the annual Report Card on Alberta's Elementary Schools and Report Card on Alberta's High Schools.

During dinner, the winning elementary and high schools will be announced in each category and presented with a $3,000 award. The two runners-up in each category will receive a $1,000 award. The remaining school teams receive School of Distinction recognition.

Event details

DATE: Thursday, November 5, 2009

WHEN: 5:30 reception; 6:30 banquet and awards presentation.

LOCATION: The Westin Calgary

320 4th Avenue SW, Calgary

Interested media are invited to the awards presentation and are asked to confirm attendance with Kendal Egli, Fraser Institute media relations coordinator, at (604) 688-0221 ext. 568 or School principals in attendance will be available for interviews and photographs.

A complete list of participating schools appears below.

Participating schools (listed by award category and community)

Note: Schools marked with an asterisk (*) are recognized in two award categories

Bassano School Bassano
Douglas Harkness School Calgary
Falconridge School Calgary
St. Mark Elementary School Calgary
St. Martha School Calgary
Coalhurst Elementary School* Coalhurst
Brightview School* Edmonton
Ekota School Edmonton
Homesteader School Edmonton
Kameyosek School Edmonton
Malcolm Tweddle School Edmonton
Scott Robertson School Edmonton
St. Bonaventure Elementary School Edmonton
St. Pius X Catholic School* Edmonton
Glendon School Glendon
Manning Elementary School Manning
Rosary Roman Catholic Separate School Manning
Vauxhall Elementary School Vauxhall
Centennial Elementary School Wetaskiwin

Bashaw School Bashaw
Bowden Grandview School Bowden
Willow Creek Composite High School Claresholm
Daysland School Daysland
Delburne Centralized School Delburne
Pigeon Lake Regional School Falun
Kitscoty Junior Senior High School Kitscoty
J. T. Foster School Nanton
Picture Butte High School Picture Butte
Ryley School Ryley
H. A. Kostash School* Smoky Lake
Vauxhall Junior Senior High School* Vauxhall 

Abbeydale School Calgary
Almadina Language Charter Academy –
Mountain View and Franklin Campuses Calgary
Dr. E. W. Coffin School Calgary
Haultain Memorial School Calgary
Le Roi Daniels School Calgary
St. Philip Fine Arts School Calgary
Webber Academy Calgary
St. Joseph School Coaldale
Coalhurst Elementary School* Coalhurst
Brightview School* Edmonton
Dovercourt School Edmonton
École J. H. Picard Catholic French Immersion K-12 School Edmonton
Meyokumin School Edmonton
St. Boniface Edmonton
St. Pius X Catholic School* Edmonton
Youngstown School Edmonton
École Mountain View School Hinton
St. Jerome's School Vermilion
Clear Vista School Wetaskiwin

École Notre Dame High School Bonnyville
Dr. E. P. Scarlett High School Calgary
Master's College Calgary
St. Francis High School Calgary
Cochrane High School Cochrane
Assumption Junior Senior High School Cold Lake
Millwoods Christian School Edmonton
Vimy Ridge Academy Edmonton
Harry Collinge High School Hinton
Magrath Junior Senior High School Magrath
Bev Facey Community High School Sherwood Park
H. A. Kostash School* Smoky Lake
St. Mary's School Taber
Vauxhall Junior Senior High School* Vauxhall
Warburg School Warburg
Warner School Warner

Follow the Fraser Institute on Twitter | Become a fan on Facebook

Check out our latest videos on YouTube

The Fraser Institute is an independent research and educational organization with locations across North America and partnerships in more than 70 countries. Its mission is to measure, study, and communicate the impact of competitive markets and government intervention on the welfare of individuals. To protect the Institute's independence, it does not accept grants from governments or contracts for research.


Contact Information