The Fraser Institute

The Fraser Institute

November 12, 2008 10:00 ET

The Fraser Institute: Media Advisory; Outstanding Alberta Elementary and High Schools to Be Recognized at Annual Awards for Excellence

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Nov. 12, 2008) - The Fraser Institute will honour teachers, principals, and support staff from outstanding Alberta elementary and high schools at the 2008 Garfield Weston Awards for Excellence in Education, Thursday, November 13, at the Fairmont Palliser Hotel in Calgary.

More than 300 educators from across the province are expected to attend this year's awards which will be presented in four categories, each reflecting a different aspect of academic success.

Improvement in Academics - Elementary and Improvement in Academics - High School recognize the schools that have experienced the fastest, most consistent improvement in their overall academic rating over the past five years. The winner in each category receives $3,000 and the two runners-up in each category receive $1,000.

Determination in Academic Achievement - Elementary and Determination in Academic Achievement - High School, recognize school teams that ensure that their students succeed regardless of considerable obstacles and challenges. The winner in each category receives $3,000 and the two runners-up in each category receive $1,000.

Event Details

DATE: Thursday, November 13, 2008

WHEN: 5:30 Reception; 6:30 Banquet and awards presentation.

LOCATION: The Fairmont Palliser Hotel
133 9th Avenue SW, Calgary

Interested media are invited to the awards presentation and school principals in attendance will be available for interviews and photographs.

A complete list of participating schools follows:

Participating schools (Listed by award category and community)

Determination in Academic Achievement - Elementary

Bassano School Bassano
Mayfield School Edmonton
Clara Tyner School Edmonton
Lansdowne School Edmonton
LaPerle School Edmonton
Rundle School Edmonton
Saint Bonaventure Elementary School Edmonton
Saint Pius X Elementary School Edmonton
Scott Robertson School Edmonton
Victoria School of Performing and Visual Arts Edmonton
Glendon School Glendon
Holden School Holden
Lacombe Christian School Lacombe
Guthrie School Lancaster Park
Willow Park School Leduc
Immanuel Christian Elementary School Lethbridge
Manning Elementary School Manning
River Heights Elementary School Medicine Hat
A.B. Daley Community School Nanton
Vauxhall Elementary School Vauxhall
Viking School Viking
Warburg School Warburg

Determination in Academic Achievement - High School

Acme School Acme
Senator Gershaw School Bow Island
Bowden Grandview School Bowden
Consort School Consort
Coronation School Coronation
Daysland School Daysland
Eagle Butte High School Dunmore
W.P. Wagner School Edmonton
F.G. Miller Junior Senior High School Elk Point
Kitscoty Junior Senior High School Kitscoty
Central Alberta Christian High School Lacombe
Calvin Christian School Monarch
J. T. Foster School Nanton
New Norway School New Norway
Olds Junior Senior High School Olds
Olds Koinonia Christian School Olds
South Central High School Oyen
Ponoka Composite High School Ponoka
Raymond High School Raymond
W. R. Myers High School Taber
Thorsby Junior Senior High School Thorsby
Trochu Valley School Trochu
Vauxhall Jr. and Sr. High School Vauxhall
Vegreville Composite High School Vegreville
Blessed Sacrament School Wainwright

Improvement in Academics - Elementary

Airdrie Koinonia Christian School Airdrie
Calgary Christian School Calgary
Ecole Mother Teresa of Calcutta School Calgary
Our Lady of Peace School Calgary
Saint Philip Fine Arts School Calgary
Sam Livingston School Calgary
Saint Catherine Elementary School Edmonton
Saint Pius X Elementary School Edmonton
Brightview School Edmonton
Ecole Notre-Dame Edmonton
Meadowlark School Edmonton
Saint Bonaventure Elementary School Edmonton
Winterburn School Edmonton
Saint Mary of the Lake School Slave Lake
Ecole Father Jan School St. Albert

Improvement in Academics - High School

Ecole Notre Dame High Bonnyville
Chestermere High School Calgary
Dr. E. P. Scarlett High School Calgary
Master's Academy & College Calgary
Saint Francis High School Calgary
Cochrane High School Cochrane
Assumption Junior Senior High School Cold Lake
Millwoods Christian School Edmonton
Austin O'Brien Catholic High School Edmonton
Vimy Ridge Academy Edmonton
Westwood Community High School Fort McMurray
Glendon School Glendon
Hay Lakes School Hay Lakes
Harry Collinge High School Hinton
Christ The King Jr/Sr High School Leduc
Magrath Junior Senior High School Magrath
Crescent Heights High School Medicine Hat
Foothills Composite High School Okotoks
Bev Facey Community High School Sherwood Park
H. J. Cody School Sylvan Lake
Vauxhall Jr. and Sr. High School Vauxhall

The Fraser Institute is an independent research and educational organization with locations across North America and partnerships in more than 70 countries. Its mission is to measure, study, and communicate the impact of competitive markets and government intervention on the welfare of individuals. To protect the Institute's independence, it does not accept grants from governments or contracts for research. Visit

Contact Information