SOURCE: National MS Society, Greater Delaware Valley Chapter

MS Dinner of Champions

March 23, 2010 09:15 ET

Frick to Receive National MS Society's Highest Honor

PHILADELPHIA, PA--(Marketwire - March 23, 2010) -  Joseph A. Frick, the President and CEO of Independence Blue Cross, has been named the 2010 Hope Award recipient for philanthropic service and community leadership by the Greater Delaware Valley Chapter of the National MS Society.

Mr. Frick will receive the Hope Award at the MS Dinner of Champions at the Crystal Tea Room in Philadelphia on October 22, 2010. Co-Chairs of the event, expected to draw more than 600 guests, are David L. Cohen, Larry Kane, Ira Lubert, the Hon. Nicholas Maiale and Judith Spires.

Joseph A. Frick has led Independence Blue Cross as president and chief executive officer since January 2005.

Prior to that role, Mr. Frick had served as Independence Blue Cross's senior vice president - human resources and administration since 1997. In this capacity, he was responsible for corporate planning and business development, as well as human resources and administrative services. Mr. Frick was promoted from vice president - human resources to senior vice president - human resources in 1994. 

Before joining Independence Blue Cross, Frick was vice president of human resources at Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. (PNI), which published The Philadelphia Inquirer and the Philadelphia Daily News.

In October 2008, Mr. Frick completed a two-year term as chairperson of the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce. He currently serves on the boards of the Chamber and of its CEO Council for Growth.

Nationally, he serves on the boards of directors for the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association and America's Health Insurance Plans (AHIP). In addition, he is a member of the boards at La Salle University and the Philadelphia Orchestra. Recently, Frick became a member of the Executive Committee of the Committee of Seventy.

A liberal arts graduate of the University of Notre Dame, Mr. Frick also received an MBA in Management from Loyola College. He and his wife, Amy, live in Newtown Square, Pennsylvania. They have a son, Tony, and a daughter, Kate.

Past Hope Award recipients include David L. Cohen, Nicholas DeBenedictis, the late G. Fred DiBona Jr., Rosemarie Greco, Bob Hall, Larry Kane, Eric Lindros, Warren V. "Pete" Musser, Joe Paterno, Ed Rendell, Mark S. Schweiker and Ed Snider. In addition to recognizing the contributions of local leaders, this fundraising event is pivotal to the National MS Society's vision of creating a world free of multiple sclerosis.

More than 13,000 people in the Greater Delaware Valley live with MS, with symptoms that can range from numbness and tingling to blindness and paralysis. The National MS Society serves people with MS by providing comprehensive support services, health-care provider education and medical research grants.

For MS Dinner of Champions tickets or more information about MS, please call 215-271-1500.

Contact Information