SOURCE: Fueled By Ramen

December 07, 2011 14:40 ET

fun. Unveils North American Tour Dates; Coast-to-Coast Trek Kicks Off on February 29th; Tickets Go On Sale Saturday, December 10th; Tour Heralds Release of "SOME NIGHTS" on February 21st Featuring Breakthrough Single, "We Are Young (feat. Janelle Monae)"

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - Dec 7, 2011) - fun. has announced details of their upcoming North American tour. The headline trek begins February 29th at South Burlington, Vermont's Higher Ground and then continues through early May (see below itinerary). Tickets go on sale on December 10th, with a pre-sale beginning today -- for complete details, please visit

The dates celebrate the upcoming release of the band's eagerly awaited Fueled By Ramen debut, "SOME NIGHTS." The album -- which includes the breakthrough single, "We Are Young (feat. Janelle Monáe)" -- arrives in stores and at all digital retailers on February 21st, 2012. A complete tracklisting for "SOME NIGHTS" has just been announced (see below).

Having earned widespread acclaim with their 2009 debut album, "AIM AND IGNITE," fun. decided to raise the stakes with "SOME NIGHTS" by teaming with noted producer Jeff Bhasker (Kanye West, Jay-Z, Alicia Keys, Beyonce, Drake). The band and Bhasker have worked to evolve the idiosyncratic fun. sound by marrying their robust melodies with elements of hip-hop.

"We Are Young (feat. Janelle Monáe)," which is available now via all major digital retailers, has received major airplay from KCRW's influential Morning Becomes Eclectic, while USA Today applauded the "baroque indie-popsters" for "(making) a counterintuitive play for the big time, slowing down for the massive sing-along chorus."

The band will perform "We Are Young" on the December 8th installment of NBC's Last Call with Carson Daly (check local listings). What's more, the song was performed on last night's episode of Fox's smash series, Glee. The performance can be viewed now at Following the episode, the Glee Cast Version of "We Are Young" topped the iTunes Overall Singles chart, and fun.'s original version of the song topped the iTunes Alternative Singles chart. "We Are Young" was also a top 10 worldwide trending topic on Twitter following the episode.

A limited edition 7" vinyl picture disc of "We Are Young" (backed with the "SOME NIGHTS" album track, "One Foot") is available now for pre-order via the Fueled By Ramen webstore, In addition, companion video clip for "We Are Young" is currently in production. A video of fun. performing an acoustic version of the song with Janelle Monáe is streaming now on the band's site,

fun. recently heralded the imminent arrival of "SOME NIGHTS" with a pair of sold-out hometown headline shows in New York and Los Angeles. The bi-coastal dates followed the band's 15-city trek supporting their "We Are Young" collaborator, Janelle Monáe, who has nothing but the highest praise for her tourmates, hailing the band as "incredible musicians."

"Nate Ruess' voice is legendary," Monáe added. "Their music is special. To watch fun. is to perhaps watch the renaissance of Queen mixed with their own fresh approach to music."

fun. began in 2008 when Nate Ruess teamed up with Andrew Dost and Jack Antonoff to meld an array of diverse inspirations into their own irresistible and freewheeling pop songcraft. The band drew immediate attention for their contemporary rethinking of classic '70s pop, where ornate arrangements and inspired orchestrations meet present-day rock 'n' roll. Fit to burst with richly prolix lyricism and intricate melodic twists and turns, "AIM AND IGNITE" earned copious critical praise: Paste praised their "bubbly, pop-synth songs," while The Huffington Post noted that "(fun. has) been quite on a roll since the release of their well-received debut."

The band followed the album's release with a series of well-received live appearances, including numerous headline dates and show-stopping performances at such gatherings as 2011's Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival.

For more news and information, please see,,, and


(Fueled By Ramen) Release Date: February 21st

1. Some Nights Intro
2. Some Nights
3. We Are Young (feat. Janelle Monáe)
4. Carry On
5. It Gets Better
6. Why Am I the One
7. All Alone
8. All Alright
9. One Foot
10. Stars
11. Out On The Town (Bonus Track)

North American Tour 2012
29 South Burlington, VT Higher Ground
1 Pawtucket, RI The Met Café
2 Towson, MD The Recher Theatre
3 Carrboro, NC Cat's Cradle
7 St. Petersburg, FL State Theatre
8 Orlando, FL Beacham Theatre
9 Atlanta, GA Center Stage
10 Birmingham, AL WorkPlay Theatre
20 Houston, TX Warehouse Live Studio
21 Dallas, TX House of Blues
23 Tucson, AZ Rialto Theatre
24 Pomona, CA The Glass House
28 San Francisco, CA The Independent
29 San Francisco, CA Bottom of the Hill
31 Salt Lake City, UT In The Venue
3 Fort Collins, CO Aggie Theatre
5 Denver, CO Bluebird Theater
6 Boulder, CO Fox Theatre & Café
10 Omaha, NE The Slowdown
11 Madison, WI The Majestic Theatre
13 Minneapolis, MN The Varsity Theater
14 Chicago. IL Vic Theatre
15 Detroit, MI St. Andrews Hall
18 Grand Rapids, MI The Intersection
19 Columbus, OH Newport Music Hall
20 Rochester, NY Water Street Music Hall
21 Boston, MA House of Blues
25 Toronto, ON The Mod Club Theatre
26 Montreal, QC Cabaret du Mile End
27 Clifton Park, NY Northern Lights
28 Philadelphia, PA Theatre of Living Arts
4 Washington, DC 9:30 Club
5 Charlottesville, VA Jefferson Theatre

Contact Information