SOURCE: Golden Living

Golden Living

September 16, 2011 10:45 ET

Golden Living Receives 29 Prestigious AHCA/NCAL Quality Awards in 2011

WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwire - Sep 16, 2011) - Twenty-nine Golden LivingCenters have been selected by the American Health Care Association and the National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) as recipients of the AHCA/NCAL Silver and Bronze Quality Awards this year. To be selected for one of the independently judged awards, nursing homes must show an extraordinary ongoing commitment to quality care for their patients and residents, as measured against specific criteria.

The AHCA/NCAL Quality Awards are designed to recognize quality achievement, while supporting improvement efforts in long-term care through the promotion of education and awareness. The awards are modeled after the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, which is the nation's highest award for distinguished health care achievement.

"Including this year's recipients, Golden Living has earned a total of 296 Quality Awards since AHCA started the program in 1996," said Neil Kurtz, M.D., President and CEO of Golden Living. "We are very proud of our ongoing commitment to quality."

"Our employees strive every day to raise the bar of quality care in each of our LivingCenters," said Cindy Susienka, Chief Operating Officer of Golden Living. "The significant number of awards we have earned is a direct reflection of our progress in becoming a company that is synonymous with quality care."

To be selected by AHCA/NCAL as a Bronze Quality Award recipient, a nursing home must demonstrate an organization-wide commitment to a patient-centered mission, define its principal customers and their expectations, and indicate how it is striving to meet their needs.

Quality Award recipients at the Silver level must have demonstrated excellence in the core values and concepts of visionary leadership, focus on the future, resident-focused care, management that measures and analyzes performance, organizational and personal learning, valuing staff and partners, systems perspective and innovation, and focus on results and creating value. To be eligible for the more rigorous Silver designation, nursing homes must also have previously earned the AHCA/NCAL Bronze Quality Award.

"We applaud Golden Living on their achievement and on their commitment to exceptional long-term care," said Governor Mark Parkinson, President and CEO of AHCA/NCAL.

A ceremony honoring the recipients of this year's awards will be held at the AHCA/NCAL Annual Convention and Exposition, Sept. 19-21, 2011 in Las Vegas.

About Golden Living (

Golden Living is a family of companies that specialize in recovery care. Its mission is to help people recover health and improve quality of life through a network of healthcare services, including rehab, home care, assisted living, skilled nursing care and hospice. The Golden Living family of companies include Golden LivingCenters, Aegis Therapies, AseraCare Hospice and Home Health, and 360 Healthcare Staffing. There are more than 300 Golden LivingCenters in 21 states. Golden Living also offers assisted living services at more than 40 locations. In addition, the Golden Innovations companies partner with more than 1,000 nursing homes, hospitals and other health care organizations in 37 states and the District of Columbia. Collectively, the Golden Living family of companies has more than 40,000 employees who provide quality healthcare to more than 60,000 patients every day.

Golden Living 2011 Quality Award Recipients

Silver Recipients
Golden LivingCenter - Reedley Reedley CA
Golden LivingCenter - Greenville Greenville NC
Golden LivingCenter - Wausa Wausa NE
Golden LivingCenter - Mobridge Mobridge SD
Bronze Recipients
Golden LivingCenter - Riverchase Birmingham AL
Golden LivingCenter - Petaluma Petaluma CA
Golden LivingCenter - Redding Redding CA
Golden LivingCenter - Glenwood Decatur GA
Golden LivingCenter - Tifton Tifton GA
Golden LivingCenter - Brookview Indianapolis IN
Golden LivingCenter - Wedgemere Taunton MA
Golden LivingCenter - Attleboro Attleboro MA
Golden LivingCenter - Gloucester Gloucester MA
Golden LivingCenter - Rochester East Rochester MN
Golden LivingCenter - Jefferson City Jefferson City MO
Golden LivingCenter - Glasgow Glasgow MO
Golden LivingCenter - McDonald County Anderson MO
Golden LivingCenter - Meridian Meridian MS
Golden LivingCenter - Lima Lima OH
Golden LivingCenter - Stenton Philadelphia PA
Golden LivingCenter - Murrysville Murrysville PA
Golden LivingCenter - Park Place Milbank SD
Golden LivingCenter - Lake Norden Lake Norden SD
Golden LivingCenter - Madison Madison SD
Golden LivingCenter - Battlefield Park Petersburg PA
Golden LivingCenter - Sleepy Hollow Annandale VA
Golden LivingCenter - Heritage Square Greendale WI
Golden LivingCenter - Three Oaks Marshfield WI
Golden LivingCenter - Florence Florence WI

Contact Information