November 15, 2016 09:00 ET

Governing Announces 2016 Public Officials of the Year

Top state and local leaders honored in annual awards program

WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwired - November 15, 2016) - Governing today announced the eight public officials who are being honored as the year's best and brightest in state and local government.

"It can be a tough time to be a public official right now," said Governing Executive Editor Zach Patton. "It's more important than ever for us to highlight the great work being done by these outstanding state and local public servants."

Every year since 1994, the Public Officials of the Year program has recognized leaders from state, city and county government who exemplify the ideals of public service.

Governing's 2016 Public Officials of the Year include:

  • Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker
  • Denver Mayor Michael Hancock
  • South Dakota State Sen. Deb Peters
  • King County, Wash., Executive Dow Constantine
  • Utah Executive Director of Management and Budget Kristen Cox
  • Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) CEO Keith Parker
  • San Diego County Director of Housing and Human Development Nick Macchione
  • Miami-Dade County Judge Steven Leifman

Public Officials of the Year are selected from nominations submitted by readers, experts in the public and private sectors and the Governing editorial team. Among the qualities recognized are leadership, courage, innovation, creativity and good management. Award winners are profiled in the December issue of the magazine and on They will also be honored at a dinner at the historic Willard InterContinental Hotel in Washington, D.C. on November 30.

About Governing:
Since 1987, Governing in the States and Localities has provided independent, nonpartisan coverage of state and local government. Governing is a division of e.Republic, a national publishing, event and research company focused on smart media for public sector innovation.

Contact Information