Industry Canada

Industry Canada

April 06, 2009 08:17 ET

Government of Canada Provides Support to Canada Research Chairs at Four Universities in Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador

HALIFAX, NOVA SCOTIA--(Marketwire - April 6, 2009) - The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology), announced today an investment of $7.9 million to fund eight new or renewed Canada Research Chairs in four universities in Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador. This includes $321 880 from the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) for research infrastructure to facilitate the work of two chairholders receiving funding under today's announcement.

"Our government recognizes the important role that research excellence plays in furthering innovation and competitiveness, two main elements in our science and technology strategy," said Minister of State Goodyear. "This is why we announced a $5.1-billion investment in science and technology in Budget 2009 - Canada's Economic Action Plan. The Canada Research Chairs Program helps universities attract and retain the best researchers in Canada and in the world, which promotes job creation, enhances the quality of life of Canadians and strengthens the economy for future generations."

Dr. Kevin Kelloway's research looks at how business leaders respond to job stress and how that response influences their leadership. His research measures the use and consequences of different leadership styles, evaluates the effectiveness of those styles in times of stress and, more importantly, examines the physical and emotional impact that both strong and weak leadership can have on employees. By exploring the attitudes and behaviour of leaders as well as the experiences of employees, Dr. Kelloway's research will help us understand the value of effective leadership in the workplace and what can be done to predict and prevent workplace violence and aggression.

"Since its inception, the Canada Research Chairs Program has helped to make Canadian universities world-class research centres," said Dr. Chad Gaffield, president of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and chair of the program's steering committee. "By recruiting renowned experts and retaining them in Canada, our universities are able to create conducive environments for groundbreaking research, as well as highly stimulating settings for training the next generation of researchers and leaders from all sectors of society."

"By investing in leading-edge research throughout the country, we are ensuring that Canada remains competitive in the knowledge economy," said Dr. Eliot Phillipson, president and CEO of the CFI. "The partnership between the Chairs program and the CFI has allowed our universities to attract and retain the best and brightest minds amid intense sustained international competition."

The eight chairholders receiving funding under today's announcement will conduct research in many different fields of direct interest to Canadians.


Canada Research Chairs Program

List of recipients, February 2009 (

The Canada Research Chairs Program is designed to attract the best talent from Canada and around the world, helping Canadian universities achieve research excellence in the health sciences, natural sciences and engineering, and social sciences and humanities. Since the program was launched, chairholders have improved Canadians' depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthened the country's international competitiveness, and helped train the next generation of highly skilled people. As of February 2009, there are 1831 research professorships at 70 universities across Canada. Of these positions, 574 researchers were recruited from abroad, including 265 Canadian expatriates. For information on the researchers included in today's announcement, please consult their detailed research profiles at

The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) is an independent corporation created by the Government of Canada to fund research infrastructure. The CFI's mandate is to strengthen the capacity of Canadian universities, colleges, research hospitals, and not-for-profit research institutions to carry out world-class research and technology development that benefits Canadians. For a complete listing of CFI contributions, please visit

Contact Information

  • Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
    Minister of State (Science and Technology)
    Gary Toft
    Director of Communications
    Industry Canada
    Media Relations
    Canada Research Chairs Program
    Trevor Lynn
    Manager, Communications
    Canada Foundation for Innovation
    Yves Melanson
    Coordinator, Media Relations