Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

September 17, 2010 19:30 ET

Government of Canada Renews Cooperation With Northwest Territories' Francophone Community

YELLOWKNIFE, NORTHWEST TERRITORIES--(Marketwire - Sept. 17, 2010) - On behalf of the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, Steven Blaney, Chair of the Standing Committee on Official Languages and Member of Parliament (Lévis–Bellechasse), today announced the ratification of a cooperation agreement between the Department of Canadian Heritage and the Francophone community in the Northwest Territories. The announcement was made during a signing ceremony in Yellowknife.

"The Government of Canada is a leader in promoting our two official languages and supporting the development of official-language minority communities," said Minister Moore. "Our efforts rely on the invaluable cooperation of the communities themselves, who know their own needs, priorities, and aspirations best."

"Our Government is committed to renewing its cooperative efforts with the Francophone community sector all across the country," added Mr. Blaney. "This agreement with the Francophone community of the Northwest Territories continues the work already started and seeks to strengthen the partnership while respecting the responsibilities of each party."

"We are very enthusiastic about renewing our collaboration with the Government of Canada," said Richard Létourneau, President of the Fédération franco-ténoise and spokesperson for the Francophone community in the Northwest Territories. "We wish to continue building and developing our community in a spirit of partnership and cooperation."

The Government of Canada is providing the Francophone community in the Northwest Territories with funding of $576,000 for each fiscal year from April 1, 2009 to March 31, 2013 through the Cooperation with the Community Sector, part of the Community Life component of the Development of Official-Language Communities Program. This program of the Department of Canadian Heritage aims to foster the development of Canada's minority Anglophone and Francophone communities and enable them to participate fully in all aspects of Canadian life.

Like the Roadmap for Canada's Linguistic Duality 2008–2013: Acting for the Future, this support reaffirms the Government of Canada's commitment to our two official languages and to ensuring the vitality of official-language minority communities. The Roadmap is an unprecedented government-wide investment of $1.1 billon over five years.

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Newsroom.)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Jean-Luc Benoit - Director of Communications
    Canadian Heritage
    Prairies and Northern Region
    Francine D. Lefebvre
    Director - Regional Communications
    204-983-4367 / Cell: 204-899-8611
    Canadian Heritage
    Media Relations