SOURCE: e.Republic


February 28, 2013 09:09 ET

Government Technology and Center for Digital Government Announce the Top 25 Doers, Dreamers & Drivers of 2013

SACRAMENTO, CA--(Marketwire - Feb 28, 2013) - e.Republic's Government Technology magazine and the Center for Digital Government today announced the Top 25 Doers, Dreamers & Drivers of 2013. 

Huge strides were made in government technology this past year, from social media and voter registration improvements to asthma sensors and more. 

Washington state implemented a new way for voters to register or make changes to their voter registrations via Facebook and My Vote. New Jersey is using social media, Twitter and hashtags to engage a younger generation in government and politics. Louisville, Ky., has spearheaded a new provision for asthma sufferers to be provided sensors that track when and where they access their medication. These are just a few of the innovations in the field and the reasons why Government Technology chose this year's Top 25 winners

"The annual GT Top 25 is our way of acknowledging the hard work and innovative ideas that make our communities safer, more successful and better places to live," says Steve Towns, executive editor of Government Technology.

These visionaries in state and local government are being recognized in the March issue of Government Technology and on for setting the standard on how technology can be used to improve government performance and strengthen citizen services. 

Government Technology has awarded this honor to more than 300 individuals over the last 11 years. Visit to see profiles of this year's winners and watch a video about how winners are chosen

Government Technology's 
Top 25 Doers, Dreamers & Drivers of 2013:  
Massoud Amin, Director, Technological Leadership Institute at the University of Minnesota 
Pete Anderson, CIO, Fort Worth, Texas 
David Behen, CIO, Michigan 
Cory Booker, Mayor, Newark, New Jersey 
Randy Cole, President, Ohio Controlling Board 
Stu Davis, CIO, Ohio 
Chuck Dowd, Commanding Officer of the Communications Division, New York City Police Department 
Laura Fucci, CIO, Henderson, Nevada 
Shane Hamlin, Assistant Director of Elections, Washington Secretary of State's Office 
Tony Hsieh, CEO, Zappos 
John Letchford, CIO, Massachusetts 
Scott McCallum, President and CEO, Aidmatrix Foundation 
Kevin McGinnis, CEO, North East Mobile Health Services 
Alex Padilla, Senator, California 
Joe Panora, Director of the Division of Enterprise Information Services, California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation 
Carolyn Parnell, CIO, Minnesota 
Carlos Ramos, CIO, California 
Jonathan Reichental, CIO, Palo Alto, California 
Chuck Robinson, Director of Shared Services, Charlotte, North Carolina 
Kristin Russell, CIO, Colorado 
Mike Russo, Director of Cybersecurity, Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
Ted Smith, Director of the Department of Economic Growth and Innovation, Louisville, Kentucky 
Rick Snyder, Governor, Michigan 
Ken Ulman, Executive, Howard County, Maryland 
Bob Woolley, Chief Technical Architect, Utah 


The Center for Digital Government is a national research and advisory institute on information technology policies and best practices in state and local government.  

Government Technology is about solving problems in state and local government through the smart use of technology. Drawing on experiences from across the country, Government Technology features best practices and fosters communities of interest around improving service delivery and transforming government operations.  

Government Technology and the Center for Digital Government are divisions of e.Republic, a national publishing, event and research company focused on smart media for public sector innovation.