Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

May 01, 2007 10:55 ET

Governor General Invests Mr. Luc Plamondon as Companion of the Order of Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - May 1, 2007) - Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaelle Jean, Governor General of Canada, presented the insignia of Officer of the Order of Canada to Mr. Luc Plamondon during a ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Friday, April 27, 2007. The appointment is in effect as of May 5, 2002.

The citation is the following:

Luc Plamondon, O.C., C.Q.
Officer of the Order of Canada
Dublin, Ireland and Montreal, Quebec

A modern-day poet and lover of the French language, Luc Plamondon pushes the boundaries of language and the imagination with creativity and ease. His rock operas are sensitive representations of the hopes and solitude of the contemporary man. A favourite author, he has written memorable pieces that have revealed new talents and completely transformed well established careers. A Parnassian at heart and a long-time defender of author's rights, he plays a unique role in the international arts community


The Order of Canada was established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement and service in various fields of human endeavour. It is our country's highest honour for lifetime achievement. Three different levels of membership-Companion, Officer and Member-honour people whose accomplishments vary in degree and scope.

Appointments are made on the recommendation of an advisory council, chaired by the chief justice of Canada.

The governor general is the Chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order. Membership in the Advisory Council reflects the diversity and excellence in Canadian society. Certain members are appointed by virtue of their office; others are appointed for a fixed term to achieve a balanced representation of the various regions of the country.

The current members of the Advisory Council are:

· The Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin, P.C., Chief Justice of Canada (Chair)

· The Honourable Thomas R. Berger, O.C.

· Dr. Patricia A. Demers, President, Royal Society of Canada: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

· Mr. Richard Francis Haskayne, O.C.

· Mr. Tom Jackson, O.C.

· Ms. Karen Kain, C.C., Chair, Canada Council for the Arts

· Ms. Judith A. LaRocque, C.V.O., Deputy Minister, Canadian Heritage

· Dr. Daurene E. Lewis, C.M.

· Mr. Kevin Lynch, Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet

· Mr. L. Jacques Menard, O.C.

· Ms. Bonnie M. Patterson, Chair, Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada

Any group or individual is welcome to nominate deserving individuals as candidates for appointment.

Any Canadian may be nominated for the Order of Canada. The only exceptions are federal and provincial politicians and judges, who may not be appointed while holding office.

People who do not have a Canadian citizenship may be considered for honorary appointments

Contact Information

  • Rideau Hall Press Office
    Marie-Paule Thorn