Department of National Defence

Department of National Defence

March 11, 2011 15:48 ET

Governor General Presents Decorations to Members of Canadian Special Operations Forces Command

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - March 11, 2011) - During a private ceremony today at Rideau Hall, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, presented some of Canada's highest honours to members of the Canadian Special Operations Forces Command (CANSOFCOM). 

The Star of Military Valour and the Medal of Military Valour are national honours awarded to recognize acts of valour, self-sacrifice or devotion to duty in the presence of the enemy. The Meritorious Service Decorations—in two levels, a Cross and a Medal— recognize military deeds or activities performed in a professional manner and according to a high standard that bring benefit or honour to the Canadian Forces. Individuals are Mentioned in Dispatches in recognition of valiant conduct, devotion to duty or other distinguished service.

Ten members of CANSOFCOM received the following decorations: three Stars of Military Valour; one Meritorious Service Cross; two Medals of Military Valour; three Meritorious Service Medals; and one individual was Mentioned in Dispatches. They were presented in recognition of bravery and commitment to service demonstrated during recent deployments in Afghanistan. For security and operational reasons, recipients' names and citations will not be released publicly.

"I'm proud that the bravery of these members is being honoured and recognized today," said General Walt Natynczyk, Chief of the Defence Staff. "These decorations speak to their professionalism and dedication to service under the most challenging of circumstances, and are a testament to the high calibre of Canada's Special Operations Forces."

CANSOFCOM provides the Government of Canada with agile, high-readiness special operations forces capable of conducting special operations across the spectrum of conflict at home and abroad.

CANSOFCOM is composed of Joint Task Force 2 (JTF2), the Canadian Joint Incident Response Unit (CJIRU), the Canadian Special Operations Regiment (CSOR); and 427 Special Operations Aviation Squadron.


For information on military honours, please visit the Department of National Defence website for CF Honours and Recognition:

Contact Information