Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

June 07, 2013 13:54 ET

Governor General Presents Military Decorations

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - June 7, 2013) - His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, announces the awarding of 2 Stars of Military Valour and 1 Medal of Military Valour, as well as 1 Meritorious Service Cross (Military Division) and 3 Meritorious Service Medals (Military Division), to members of the Canadian Special Operations Forces Command (CANSOFCOM) and the Chief of Defence Intelligence (CDI).

The decorations were presented today by the Governor General, during a ceremony at Rideau Hall. General Tom Lawson, Chief of the Defence Staff, was also in attendance. The recipients were recognized for devotion to duty and acts of valour in the presence of the enemy and for military deeds performed in a highly professional manner.

During the ceremony, the Chief of the Defence Staff presented the Chief of the Defence Staff Commendation to two CANSOFCOM members.

For security and operational reasons, recipients' names and citations will not be released. Additional information on Military Valour Decorations and Meritorious Service Decorations is attached.

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter.


The three Military Valour Decorations, namely the Victoria Cross, the Star of Military Valour and the Medal of Military Valour, were created by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of Canada, on January 1, 1993. The Decorations may be awarded posthumously.

The Victoria Cross is awarded for the most conspicuous bravery, a daring or pre-eminent act of valour or self-sacrifice, or extreme devotion to duty, in the presence of the enemy.

The Star of Military Valour is awarded for distinguished and valiant service in the presence of the enemy.

The Medal of Military Valour is awarded for an act of valour or devotion to duty in the presence of the enemy.

Anyone can propose a nomination for the Military Valour Decorations. If a member of our Canadian Forces meets the criteria, a submission will be made through the member's chain of command for consideration by the Military Valour Decorations Advisory Committee, and the governor general.

For all three Military Valour Decorations, recipients must be a member of the Canadian Forces or a member of an allied force that is serving with, or in conjunction with, the Canadian Forces, on or after January 1, 1993.


The Meritorious Service Decorations include a military division and a civil division, with two levels each: a medal and a cross. The military division recognizes individuals for their outstanding professionalism and for bringing honour to the Canadian Forces and to Canada. The civil division recognizes individuals who have performed an exceptional deed or an activity that brought honour to the community or to Canada.

The Meritorious Service Cross (Military Division) recognizes a military deed or activity that has been performed in an outstandingly professional manner, according to a rare high standard that brings considerable benefit or great honour to the Canadian Forces.

The Meritorious Service Medal (Military Division) recognizes a military deed or activity performed in a highly professional manner, according to a very high standard that brings benefit or honour to the Canadian Forces.

These decorations are an important part of the Canadian Honours System, which recognizes excellence. Meritorious Service Decorations honour either a single achievement or an activity over a specified period. The Meritorious Service Decorations are open to both Canadians and non-Canadians.

Anyone may nominate an individual for the civil division of the Meritorious Service Decorations, while military candidates are recommended by the chief of the Defence Staff. Nominations and awards may be made posthumously, but nominations for activities that occurred prior to June 1984, the year in which the honour was first created, are not accepted.

Contact Information