Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

November 27, 2007 18:58 ET

Governor General Proposes Two New Options to Recognize Constable Garrett

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 27, 2007) - Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaelle Jean, Governor General of Canada, is very aware of and empathizes with the public's desire to honour the late Constable Christopher Garrett of the Cobourg Police Service in Ontario for his exceptional actions in the line of duty and for service to his community. From the first moment this case was brought to her attention, the Governor General, through the Chancellery of Honours, has been working with the government to examine options to recognize the actions of the late Constable Garrett.

Policies and regulations governing national honours fall within the purview of the National Honours Policy Committee, a committee under the responsibility of the Privy Council Office. This committee advises the Prime Minister on matters related to the Canadian honours system since regulations for national decorations are the responsibility of the government, not of the Governor General, and can only be amended by Order in Council.

In respect of the rule of law, the Governor General is asking that two options be explored to recognize the high level of professionalism demonstrated by the late Constable Garrett's actions.

First, the Governor General has requested that the Canadian Decorations Advisory Committee consider a Meritorious Service Decoration for the late Constable Garrett. Meritorious Service Decorations honour those who have demonstrated a highly professional performance of a deed or activity that brings considerable benefit or honour to Canada.

Second, the Governor General has requested that the government consider the creation of a new decoration to recognize those citizens, like the late Constable Garrett, who have fallen in the line of duty.


The Chancellery of Honours

The Chancellery of Honours administers Canada's Honours System including the Order of Canada, the Bravery Awards, the Meritorious Service Decorations and the Caring Canadian Awards.

Canadian Bravery Decorations

Decorations for Bravery recognize people who risked their lives to try to save or protect another. There are three levels for Canadian Bravery Decorations: the Cross of Valour awarded for acts of the most conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril; the Star of Courage, awarded for acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril and the Medal of Bravery, awarded for acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances.

National Honours Policy Committee

Regulations concerning the awarding of national honours fall within the purview of the National Honours Policy Committee, a committee under the responsibility of the Privy Council Office. The National Honours Policy Committee is made up of representatives from the federal government.

Canadian Decorations Advisory Committee

The Canadian Decorations Advisory Committee reviews all eligible nominations. It is made up of the Deputy Secretary, Chancellery of Honours, and representatives from the government and four additional members including representatives from fire and medical services and flight safety.

For additional information about Canadian Bravery Decorations and the Chancellery of Honours, visit

Contact Information