Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

November 04, 2009 10:25 ET

Governor General to Preside Over the Inaugural Presentation of the Sacrifice Medal

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 4, 2009) - Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaelle Jean, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, will present the first 46 Sacrifice Medals to members of the Canadian Forces and, posthumously, to a Canadian diplomat. The inaugural ceremony will be held on Monday, November 9, 2009, at 11 a.m. at Rideau Hall, in the presence of the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada.

The Governor General will present 46 Sacrifice Medals of which 21 are awarded posthumously. The recipients come from all regions of the country and from a variety of Canadian Forces regiments. The list of recipients is attached. .

The Sacrifice Medal was created to provide a tangible and lasting form of recognition for the members of the Canadian Forces and those who work with them who have been wounded or killed by hostile action and to Canadian Forces members who died as a result of service.

Members of the media who would like to conduct interviews with the recipients are asked to contact the National Defence Media Liaison Office. Members of the media wishing to cover the event are asked to inform the Rideau Hall Press Office, and must arrive at the Princess Ann Entrance for 10:30 a.m.


To receive the Sacrifice Medal and Bar:

Sergeant Lance Thomas Hooper, M.S.M., C.D.

To receive the Sacrifice Medal:

Captain Casey Balden
Corporal Cole Daniel Bartsch (posthumous)
Corporal Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger (posthumous)
Dr. Glyn Raymond Berry (posthumous)
Master Corporal Roger Dennis Boudreau, C.D.
Private Darryl James Caswell (posthumous)
Sergeant Joseph Anatole Serge Charette, C.D.
Corporal Ryan E. G. Elrick, C.D.
Corporal Andrew James Eykelenboom (posthumous)
Master Corporal Paul Milson Franklin
Master Corporal Michael Christian Gauthier, C.D.
Corporal Vincent C. Gauvreau-Roussin
Master Corporal Dave Gionet, M.M.V.
Captain Nichola Kathleen Sarah Goddard, M.S.M.
Corporal Joseph Francois Etienne Gonthier (posthumous)
Private Richard Anthony Green (posthumous)
Captain Charles Trevor Greene
Corporal Phillip J. Guy
Private Michael Yuki Hayakaze (posthumous)
Sergeant Sheldon Herritt, C.D.
Private Arielle Marie Keyes-Oliver (posthumous)
Major Paeta Derek Hess-von Kruedener, M.S.C., C.D.
Private Joseph Simon Maurice Serge Longtin
Captain Juli-Ann Dawn Mackenzie (posthumous)
Captain Simon Jean Mailloux
Corporal Nicholas George Makischuk
Master Corporal Bounyarattanaphon Makthepharak
Corporal Joseph Francois Maurice Malboeuf, C.D.
Warrant Officer Frank Robert Mellish, C.D. (posthumous)
Officer Cadet Jesse Lee Melnyck
Master Warrant Officer
Joseph Christian Michel Mario Mercier, M.S.C., C.D.
Master Corporal Jody Allan Mitic, C.D.
Master Corporal Kirk Bradley Noel (posthumous)
Corporal Michael P. O'Rourke, M.M.V.
Master Corporal Darrell Jason Priede (posthumous)
Corporal J. Y. Martin Renaud
Master Corporal Joel Emile Richard
Master Seaman Crysta L. Rutherford
Lieutenant(N) Christopher Edward Saunders, C.D.
Sergeant John Sloan, C.D.
Sergeant Mark William Soper, C.D.
Sergeant Shane Hank Stachnik (posthumous)
Master Corporal Jeffrey Scott Walsh (posthumous)
Sergeant Gregory Owen White
Private Joel Vincent Wiebe (posthumous)

The Sacrifice Medal

The Sacrifice Medal was created to provide a tangible and lasting form of recognition for the sacrifices made by members of the Canadian Forces (CF) and those who work with them who have been wounded or killed under honourable circumstances as a direct result of a hostile action or action intended for a hostile force. The medal is also awarded posthumously to any member of the CF who served on or after 7 October 2001, and dies under honourable circumstances as a result of an injury or disease related to military service.


A commanding officer will submit an application through the usual military chain of command for eligible members of their unit.

Description of the Medal

The Medal consists of a silver circular medal that is 36 mm across, has a claw at the top of it in the form of the Royal Crown, and is attached to a straight slotted bar.

On the obverse of the Medal appears a contemporary effigy of Her Majesty the Queen of Canada, facing right, wearing a Canadian diadem composed alternately of maple leaves and snow flakes, and circumscribed with the inscriptions "ELIZABETH II DEI GRATIA REGINA" and "CANADA", separated by small maple leaves.

On the reverse of the Medal appears a representation of the statue named "Canada" -that forms part of the Canadian National Vimy Memorial - facing right, overlooking the horizon. The inscription "SACRIFICE" appears in the lower right half of the Medal.

The Medal is suspended from a watered ribbon that is 32 mm in width, consisting of a 10-mm black stripe in the middle that is flanked by 11-mm red stripes, on which are centred 1-mm white stripes.

The bar to the Medal is in silver with raised edges and shall bear a centred, single silver maple leaf overall. The Bar is presented for subsequent awards of the Medal.

Related Information: For more information on military honours, please see the Department of National Defence Web site for Canadian Forces Honours and Awards: For more information on the Sacrifice Medal, visit

Contact Information

  • For information on the ceremony:
    Annabelle Cloutier
    Rideau Hall Press Office
    For information on the Sacrifice medal and its recipients:
    Department of National Defence
    Media Liaison Office