SOURCE: HATCHfest - Audiovisual Festival

October 09, 2006 14:18 ET

'Groundbreaker' Maia Horniak Selected as Moonlight Basin's Outstanding Filmmaker for "Loveproof"; JD Souther Presents Marshall McLean the Gibson New Musician of the Year Award

Veteran Filmmaker Chris Cain Receives the HATCH Mentorship Award; Amy Berg's "Deliver Us From Evil" Selected for the Feature Film Award

BOZEMAN, MT -- (MARKET WIRE) -- October 9, 2006 -- HATCHfest 2006, the third annual Hatch Audiovisual Arts Festival, concluded Saturday night with Sydney, Australia's groundbreaking filmmaker Maia Horniak winning the Moonlight Basin Outstanding Filmmaker Award for her dystopian futuristic film, "Loveproof." She received a cash prize of $10,000, as well as a Panavision camera package, post production work at The Syndicate and a scholarship to the world-renowned Screenwriter's Boot Camp.

Atari Corporation and Chuck E. Cheese founder Nolan Bushnell was the keynote speaker and among the dignitaries and invited guests in attendance at the Ellen Theatre in Bozeman who also saw legendary singer / songwriter JD Souther present the Gibson New Musician Award to Marshall McLean. In addition to winning the award, McLean was given an exclusive Gibson Acoustic Traveling Songwriter guitar by Gibson.

In a special surprise, veteran filmmaker Chris Cain ("Young Guns," "September Dawn") was honored with the HATCH Mentorship Award. Actors and actresses who Cain discovered and worked with, including his son Dean, Jon Voight, Kiefer Sutherland, and Jennifer Garner, paid tribute to Cain with a video presentation. Amy Berg's new Lionsgate film, "Deliver Us From Evil" was given the festival's Feature Film Award. Other awards were presented in a variety of artistic disciplines including cinematography, editing, screenwriting, architecture and design.

HATCHfest brings in student filmmakers from around the world. In Bozeman they have the opportunity to work with and be mentored by seasoned professionals in their field. The unique mission of the festival is to provide mentorship, education, inspiration and recognition to the next generation of creative innovators.

Complete list of winners:

Moonlight Basin Award for Outstanding Filmmaker:
Loveproof - Maia Horniak

Gibson Guitar New Musician of the Year Award:
Marshall McLean

HATCH Mentorship Award:
Chris Cain

Feature Film Award:
Deliver Us From Evil - Amy Berg

Award for Outstanding Cinematography:
Loveproof - Carl Robertson

Award for Outstanding Editing:
Pop Foul - Paul Frank

Screenwriting Award sponsored by Kosmic Films:
Jackalope - Clay Eide

Fashion Design Winner sponsored by Messenger Events:
Pollen - Cody Leigh Brown, Lauren Lee Anderson

HATCHspace Architecture Winner:
Dallas Huard

Contact Information

    Murray Weissman & Associates
    Marc Kruskol