Government of Canada

Government of Canada

February 24, 2015 16:37 ET

Harper Government Investment to Showcase Northern Ontario's Mining Industry at 2015 PDAC Convention

TEMISKAMING SHORES, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Feb. 24, 2015) - The Honourable Greg Rickford, Canada's Minister of Natural Resources and Minister for the Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario (FedNor), announced today the roster of more than 55 businesses and organizations from across Northern Ontario that will take part in the Northern Ontario Mining Showcase at the 2015 Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada's (PDAC) International Convention, March 1-4, 2015, in Toronto.

The Northern Ontario Mining Showcase will consist of a 5,800 square-feet exhibition space where mining-related businesses and organizations from Northern Ontario will promote the region and its mining potential, while highlighting their products and services to the more than 25,000 visitors from over 100 countries attending the PDAC convention.

Quick Facts

  • Established in 1932, the PDAC International Convention is the world's largest conference and trade show for companies and organizations connected to mining and mineral exploration.
  • A FedNor investment of $375,000, provided through the Northern Ontario Development Program and announced last month, is enabling the City of Temiskaming Shores to organize and produce the Northern Ontario Mining Showcase, the largest pavilion at the convention.
  • Since 2006, through FedNor's Northern Ontario Development Program, the Harper Government has invested $343 million in support of more than 1,645 projects. These investments have supported more than 21,500 jobs throughout Northern Ontario.

Quotes

"The Harper Government is proud to support the development and growth of Northern Ontario's mining industry, a key driver of our economy. This strategic initiative will help participating businesses and organizations gain exposure and reach new markets, as well as pursue new opportunities that will help create jobs right here in Northern Ontario."

Greg Rickford

Canada's Minister of Natural Resources and Minister for the Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario

"The City of Temiskaming Shores is pleased to partner with the Government of Canada through FedNor to lead this important initiative that will help create opportunities within the mining sector and support the continued growth of our regional economy."

Carman Kidd

Mayor, The City of Temiskaming Shores

Related Products

  • Information sheet

Associated Links

  • To find out more about our programs and services, please visit: fednor.gc.ca and follow us on Twitter @FedNor.

Exhibitor List

ABITIBI GEOPHYSICS
THUNDER BAY, ON
Website: ageophysics.com
Contact: Pam Coles, Regional Manager
Tel: 807.346.9254
Email: pcoles@ageophysics.com
ACTLABS
THUNDER BAY, ON
Website: actlabs.com
Contact: Ryan Mackie, Regional Manager
Tel: 807.622.6707 x 401
Email: ryanmackie@actlabs.com
AIR RIDER HOVERCRAFT INTERNATIONAL
SEGUIN, ON
Website: airriderhovercraft.com
Contact: Dave Hutchinson, Operations
Email: dave@airriderhovercraft.com
Tel: 1.855.648.5723
ASINIKE DIAMOND DRILLING
KENORA, ON
Website: mallettedrilling.ca
Contact: Kevin O'Flaherty, Project Developer
Email: leah@timanco.ca
Tel: 807.468.6129
BEARSKIN AIRLINES
THUNDER BAY, ON
Website: bearskinairlines.com
Contact: Helen Trochimchuk, Account Executive
Email: htrochimchuk@bearskinairlines.com
Tel: 807.474.2685
CANADIAN EXPLORATION SERVICES LTD
LARDER LAKE, ON
Website: cxsltd.com
Contact: William Bonney, Operations Manager
Email bill@cxsltd.com
Tel: 705.643.2345 x 229
CANADIAN SHIELD CONSULTANTS AGENCY
ST. CHARLES, ON
Website: canadianshieldconsultants.com
Contact: Gerry Dignard, Chief Executive Officer
Email: joce@canadianshieldconsultants.com
Tel: 705.867.5242
CARMIX CANADA LTD.
VAL CARON, ON
Website: carmixcanada.ca
Contact: Normand Maurice, Owner
Email: info@carmixcanada.ca
Tel: 705.897.1716
CENTRE FOR EXCELLENCE IN MINING INNOVATION
SUDBURY, ON
Website: miningexcellence.ca
Contact: Eric Maag, Director - Innovation & Prosperity Office
Email: info@miningexcellence.com
Tel: 705.673.6568
CLARK EXPLORATION CONSULTING INC.
THUNDER BAY, ON
Website: clarkexploration.com
Contact: Steven Siemieniuk, Project Geologist
Email: steve@clarkexploration.com
Tel: 807.622.3284
CLEARLOGIC CONSULTING PROFESSIONALS
TIMMINS, ON
Website: clearlogic.ca
Contact: Maggie Matear, Director Sustainability & Strategic Planning
Email: mmatear@clearlogic.ca
Tel: 705.288.2444
CMM MAINTENANCE & MILLWRIGHT SERVICES
TIMMINS, ON
Website: cmm-inc.ca
Contact: Christen Morandin, Treasurer
Email: christen@cmm-inc.ca
Tel: 705.363.8185
COVERGALLS INC.
SUDBURY, ON
Website: covergallsworkwear.com
Contact: Alicia Woods, Chief Executive Office & Creator
Email: info@covergallsworkwear.com
Tel: 705.919.1101
FABRITHANE INDUSTRIAL PRODUCTS INC.
EARLTON, ON
Website: fabrithane.com
Contact: Jean-Guy Perrault, President & General Manager
Email: fabrithane@ntl.sympatico.com
Tel: 705.563.2223
FULLER INDUSTRIAL
SUDBURY, ON
Website: fullerindustrial.com
Contact: Jeffrey Fuller, President
Email: angela.jackson@fullerindustrial.com
Tel: 705.682.2777 x 100
HARD-LINE
DOWLING, ON
Website: hard-line.com
Contact: Walter Siggelkow, President
Email: wsiggelkow@hard-line.com
Tel: 705.855.1310
HAVILAHCORP INC.
THUNDER BAY, ON
Website: havilahcorp.com
Contact: George Lysenko
Email: glysenko@havilahcorp.com
Tel: 807.632.9034
HEARST AIR SERVICE LTD.
HEARST, ON
Website: hearstair.com
Contact: Mel Veilleux, Director
Email: mel@hearstair.com
Tel: 705.463.5700
KIMESSKANEMENOW CORPORATION
JAMES BAY, ON
Website: winterroadcompany.ca
Contact: Nancy Wood, President
Email: nwood@thejbwr.com
Tel: 516.336.6970
LARABIE CML INC.
KAPUSKASING, ON
Website: larabie.ca
Contact: Denis Larabie, Business Development
Email: denislarabie@larabie.ca
Tel: 705.335.7133
MANSOUR MINING TECHNOLOGIES INC.
SUDBURY, ON
Website: mansourmining.com
Contact: Jean Guy Coulombe, President & Chief Executive Officer
Email: j.coulombe@mansourmining.com
Tel: 705.561.6235
MATERIALS JOINING INNOVATION CENTRE/ICAMP
KIRKLAND LAKE / NORTH BAY, ON
Website: majic-ca.org / canadorecollege.ca
Contact: Jeff Molyneaux, Executive Director
Email: jennifer.polson@majic-ca.org
Tel: 705.567.6411
MILLER GROUP OF COMPANIES
NEW LISKEARD, ON
Website: millergroup.ca
Contact: Britt Herd, Manager - Estimating
Email: britt.herd@millergroup.ca
Tel: 705.647.4331
MILLER TECHNOLOGY
NORTH BAY, ON
Website: millertechnology.com
Contact: Marc Mondoux, Sales
Email: mmondoux@millertechnology.com
Tel: 705.476.4500
MINALYTIX INC.
SUDBURY, ON
Website: minalytix.net
Contact: David Peres, President
Email: david.peres@minalytix.net
Tel: 705.521.8324 x 249
MINEIQ
SUDBURY, ON
Website: mineiq.com
Contact: Jennifer Sloat, Founder & Chief Executive Officer
Email: jen@mineiq.com
Tel: 705.929.1774
MURRAY OK TIRE
VAL-RITA, ON
Website: murrayoktire.ca
Contact: Martin Murray, Director
Email: martinmurray@murrayoktire.ca
Tel: 705.335.3453
NIMKIE MINING SERVICES CORP.
BEAR ISLAND, ON
Website: nimkiemining.net
Contact: Randall Becker, Chief Executive Officer
Email: randall.becker@nimkiemining.net
Tel: 705.679.4243
NOR-ARC
EARLTON, ON
Website: norarc.com
Contact: Mario Léveillé, General Manager
Email:mario.leveille@norarc.com
Tel: 705.563.2656
NORCAT
SUDBURY, ON
Website: norcat.org
Contact: Jason Bubba, Director - Training and Development
Email: jbubba@norcat.org
Tel: 705.521.8324 x 246
NORDIC MINESTEEL TECHNOLOGIES
NORTH BAY, ON
Website: nordicminesteel.com
Contact: Richard DeRuiter, Vice President - Engineering
Email: rderuiter@nordicminesteel.com
Tel: 705.474.2777 x 245
NORTHERN COLLEGE TRAINING DIVISION
HAILEYBURY, ON
Website: northernc.on.ca
Contact: Christine Heavens, Executive Director
Email: heavensc@northern.on.ca
Tel: 705.235.3211 x 2139
NORTHERN SUPERIOR STRUCTURAL SOLUTIONS
THUNDER BAY, ON
Website: nsss.ca
Contact: Bill Boulton, President - Chief Executive Officer
Email: bill@nsss.ca
Tel: 807.622.3125
NORTHERN SURVEY SUPPLY
MATTAWA, ON
Website: nsscanada.com
Contact: Kevin Pecore, Marketing Director
Email: kevinp@nsscanada.com
Tel: 1.800.461.3223
ON DUTY EQUIPMENT LTD.
NEW LISKEARD, ON
Website: onduty.ca
Contact: Roger Rondeau, Owner
Email: onduty@ntl.sympatico.ca
Tel: 705.648.0986
ONTARIO CLEAN WATER AGENCY
HAILEYBURY, ON
Website: ocwa.com
Contact: Michael Del Monte, Operations Manager
Email: mdelmonte@owca.com
Tel: 705.648.4233
PNEUMA-TOOL
NORTH BAY, ON
Website: pneuma-tool.com
Contact: Bill Culhane, Operations
Email: billculhane@pneuma-tool.com
Tel: 705.478.0902
POLYMET LABS
COBALT, ON
Website: polymetinc.com
Contact: David Pinkney, Office Manager
Email: dave@polymetinc.com
Tel: 705.679.5500
POLY-URE CASTINGS
EARLTON, ON
Website: polyurecastings.com
Contact: Gilles Perreault, President
Email: sales@polyurecastings.com
Tel: 705.563.2668
PORCUPINE CANVAS
TIMMINS, ON
Website: porcupinecanvas.com
Contact: Brenda Hagerty, General Manager
Email: brenda@porcupinecanvas.com
Tel: 705.268.7878
PRODRILL (A SLING-CHOKER BRAND)
THUNDER BAY, ON
Website: wrprodrill.com
Contact: Hugh Paxton, Vice President
Email: hugh@sc-tbay.com
Tel: 807.344.9159
PROVIX
NORTHERN ONTARIO
Website: provix.net
Contact: Karly Winfield, Technical Sales
Email: marketing@provix.net
Tel: 705.435.2242
RASTALL TOOL CORP.
SUDBURY, ON
Website: rastallcorp.com
Contact: Charles Rastall, General Manager
Email: crastall@rastallcorp.com
Tel: 705.675.2431
ROCVENT INC.
LIVELY, ON
Website: rocvent.com
Contact: Don Turgeon, Director of Sales
Email: don.turgeon@rocvent.com
Tel: 705.692.5854
SLING CHOCKER MANUFACTURING
SUDBURY, ON
Website: slingchoker.com
Contact: Dan Villgren, Business Development
Email: dvillgren@slingchoker.com
Tel: 705.522.8002
STORY ENVIRONMENTAL INC.
HAILEYBURY, ON
Website: storyenvironmental.com
Contact: Beata Bradley, Administrative Assistant
Email: beata.bradley@storyenvironmental.com
Tel: 705.672.3324
SYMBOTICWARE INC.
SUDBURY ON
Website: symboticware.com
Contact: Kirk Petroski, President & Chief Executive Officer
Email: kmckenzie@symboticware.com
Tel: 800.519.5496
TECHNICAL AND AUTOMATION HELP
NORTH BAY, ON
Website: techautohelp.com
Contact: Harris Tennyson, President
Email: tharris@techautohelp.com
Tel: 416.848.7451
TESC CONTRACTING LTD.
SUDBURY, ON
Website: tesc.com
Contact: Audrey Manninen, Business Development Coordinator
Email: audrey.manninen@tesc.com
Tel: 705.566.5702
TOPROPS
VAL CARON, ON
Website: toprops.com
Contact: Savy Bhardwaj, General Manager
Email: savy@toprops.com
Tel: 1.800.461.3223
TRACKS & WHEELS EQUIPMENT BROKERS INC.
SUDBURY, ON
Website: tracksandwheels.com
Contact: Roger Coggins, President & General Manager
Email: rcoggins@tracksandwheels.com
Tel: 705.566.5438
WABI IRON & STEEL CORP.
NEW LISKEARD, ON
Website: wabicorp.com
Contact: Jonny Daviau, Sales Manager
Email: jdaviau@wabicorp.com
Tel: 705.647.4383
WAUBETEK BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT CORP.
BIRCH ISLAND, ON
Website: waubetek.com
Contact: Dawn Madahbee, General Manager
Email: dmadahbee@waubetek.com
Tel: 705.285.4275
WB MELBACK CORP.
NEW LISKEARD, ON
Contact: Mel Peddie, President & Owner
Email: melpeddie@wbmelback.com
Tel: 705.647.5879
WINDIGO CATERING LP.
SIOUX LOOKOUT, ON
Website: windigocatering.ca
Contact: Allan Bedard, Operations & Sales Manager
Email: allan.bedard@goldcorp.com
Tel: 807.622.7224

Contact Information

  • Alexandra Lemieux
    Press Secretary
    Office of the Honourable Greg Rickford
    613-996-2007
    Alexandra.Lemieux@NRCan-RNCan.gc.ca

    Barclay Babcock
    Communications Officer
    FedNor
    705-690-0957 or 1-877-333-6673 Ext 303